Monthly Archives: March 2016

Teaser Tuesday: March 15th 2016

Happy Tuesday – hope it’s a SUPER one too (go vote if that applies to you!)  Having some computer issues lately, missed you all last week (and way behind on reviews again) – but hope to be up and running again soon and hopefully with some new blog content (not book related – but purpose related) – yay!

Loving the book I’m reading this week – No One Knows by J.T. Ellison – a NetGalley read releasing next Tuesday (3/22/16).  Almost done and still not sure where it is going to go!

And I’m throwing in 2 teasers this week – mainly because I thought the first one was just a good line – teaser or not!!

What was it about moments, the ones that start with a capital M, that made you notice each and every detail?
2% into book*

Hiding the truth from herself wasn’t going to work anymore.  She didn’t want to drag herself through it all again, but she’d be damned if she would miss an opportunity to find out exactly what had happened to Josh.
45% into book*

Book Description:

In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s Secret, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on. She just wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Who anonymously sent Aubrey her favorite cocktail at the bar where Josh stood her up? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious and strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

As her heroine faces the possibility that everything she thinks she knows about herself, her marriage, and her husband is a lie, New York  author J.T. Ellison expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. In a masterful thriller for readers who love Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins, Ellison pulls you into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

What do you think? Please share yours below too! Thanks for stopping by today!

Teaser

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Jenn of BooksandaBeat.Com Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

*Teaser pulled from ARC (advanced review copy) and may not tie to final version.

5 Comments

Filed under Chapters

Book Review: North of Here by Laurel Saville


North of Here by Laurel Saville (click on book or see below for description)
Releases 3/1/16
February Kindle First Read

Rating: 2 bones (2/5 bones)

I wasn’t expecting a happy story in picking up this book.  Actually I’m not sure what I was expecting, but let’s just say I’m happy to be finished with this book now as it got a bit to weird for my liking.

It started out ok.  It was clear by the section titles “Miranda & Dix” then “Darius & Sally” (and so on) that there would be a few stories/characters that the reader could likely assume would intersect at some point.  This was true and it was enjoyable to see how it would happen.  The first section kept my hopes high although it was a story I have read many times before.  Unapproachable, tough guy eventually opens up to naive girl after tragedy.  I’m not spoiling anything, you can see it all coming.  The second section, well there was no guessing what was going to happen when a rich boy trying to break free from his family buys a large abandoned piece of property.  And still – I didn’t see it coming, but maybe I should have?  Still holding out hope – I trucked on.

But then it just got weird.  Not good weird, just creepy, uncomfortable and I wanted it to be over.  Now don’t get me wrong, the pages kept turning, it didn’t drag on by any means, I just really didn’t care for it.  I could have handled a whole host of emotional topics, as I mentioned, I wasn’t looking for happy, this just didn’t do it for me.  The writing was decent as I had a clear picture of some of the very vivid (disturbing) scenes described, my review is solely based on the subject matter.

As to not spoil anything, I’ll keep this vague and stop here.  The ending I guess I would say is sweet, after a few more unexpected twists, but by that point, I was done.  Maybe I have piqued your interest?  It is worth reading so you can share your thoughts – I’d love to talk about it more.

Thank you to Kindle First (Amazon) for the opportunity to preview this book!

Book Description:

The sounds of unexpected tragedies—a roll of thunder, the crash of metal on metal—leave Miranda in shock amid the ruins of her broken family.

As she searches for new meaning in her life, Miranda finds quiet refuge with her family’s handyman, Dix, in his cabin in the dark forests of the Adirondack Mountains. Dix is kind, dependable, and good with an ax—the right man to help the sheltered Miranda heal—but ultimately, her sadness creates a void even he can’t fill.

When a man from her distant past turns up, the handsome idealist now known as Darius, he offers Miranda a chance to do meaningful work at The Source, a secluded property filled with his nature worshipers. Miranda feels this charismatic guru is the key to remaking her life, but her grief and desire for love also create an opportunity for his deception. And in her desperate quest to find herself after losing almost everything, Miranda and Dix could pay a higher price than they ever imagined.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chapters

Book Review: The Passenger by Lisa Lutz

The Passenger by Lisa Lutz
Released 3/1/16
Downloaded free through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Rating: 4 bones (4/5 bones)

Don’t expect to sit back and relax and read this book.  This book will have you holding your breath and waiting for relief for Tanya (or whoever she is) and wondering if it will ever come.

As the blurb starts out below, the book begins with the death of Frank, Tanya’s husband.  And she runs.  It’s apparent that she really didn’t do it right from the start – so why does she run?  The book dives right in as Tayna changes identity and begins her quest for escape (I started to write freedom, but when you’re running from the law – you learn pretty fast that freedom will never be a part of it.)

We learn bits and pieces of the past through emails with a mystery man named Ryan corresponding to a woman named Jo.  But it takes the better part of the book to determine what happened so many years ago and why she ran in the first place.

The book is broken into sections titled appropriately with Tanya’s current identity.  Some last for a few months, while others last only a day.  I’m exhausted for her as she is constantly looking over her shoulder, trying to figure out what is next, and never able to fully trust anyone.  She does let two interesting characters close to her – Blue and a local town sheriff.  Both of these relationships appear throughout the book and will keep you wondering if either of them are out to get her, use her, or maybe even help her.

It’s an exciting, yet bumpy ride, but with a good ending.  Great book!  Thank you to NetGalley and Simon & Schuster for allowing me to preview!

Book Review:

In case you were wondering, I didn’t do it. I didn’t have anything to do with Frank’s death. I don’t have an alibi, so you’ll have to take my word for it…

Forty-eight hours after leaving her husband’s body at the base of the stairs, Tanya Dubois cashes in her credit cards, dyes her hair brown, demands a new name from a shadowy voice over the phone, and flees town. It’s not the first time.

She meets Blue, a female bartender who recognizes the hunted look in a fugitive’s eyes and offers her a place to stay. With dwindling choices, Tanya-now-Amelia accepts. An uneasy―and dangerous―alliance is born.

It’s almost impossible to live off the grid today, but Amelia-now-Debra and Blue have the courage, the ingenuity, and the desperation, to try. Hopscotching from city to city, Debra especially is chased by a very dark secret…can she outrun her past?

With heart-stopping escapes and devious deceptions, The Passenger is an amazing psychological thriller about defining yourself while you pursue your path to survival. One thing is certain: the ride will leave you breathless.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chapters

Teaser Tuesday: March 1st 2016

Hi March!!  Some exciting things happening over here that may be taking over the blog this spring/summer…stay tuned but here is a hint:

IMG_1052-001

This week I began a new book that is keeping me up late.  It’s The Unforgotten by Laura Powell a NetGalley read releasing March 17, 2016- and isn’t this just a beautiful cover!?  So far a great mystery too!

unforgotten

“All that exists in this second, in this street, is the headline board.  At first, Mary reads it again and things she must be hallucinating, but she screams again, and again it comes out as a peculiar, raspy cough.”
7% into book*

Book Description:

It’s 1956 and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the boarding house run by her erratic mother. But when the London press pack descends to report on a series of gruesome murders of young women, Betty’s world changes. In particular she is transfixed by mysterious and aloof reporter, Mr Gallagher.

As the death toll rises, an unlikely friendship blossoms between Betty and Gallagher. But as their bond deepens, they find themselves entangled with the murders and each is forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives – and the life of an innocent man – forever.

What do you think? Please share yours below too! Thanks for stopping by today!

Teaser

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Jenn of BooksandaBeat.Com Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

*Teaser pulled from ARC (advanced review copy) and may not tie to final version.

8 Comments

Filed under Chapters