Book Review: Find Her by Lisa Gardner


Find Her
By Lisa Gardner
Releases 2/9/16
Provided through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Rating: 4 bones(4.5 /5 bones)

Well.  This one kind of left me speechless.  Trembling in a corner, shaking and speechless.  I have never been so chilled to my core by a book.  For that reason I loved it.  For the subject matter, I cannot give it a solid five.  Seriously disturbing stuff.

Crash & Burn was my first introduction to Ms. Gardner.  A January read from last year that had me hooked.  So I was very excited to see a new one for this year.  And you can tell I’m excited as I have taken a few months off from reviews and this one will (maybe) throw me back in the game.  This is the kind of book that all other thrillers need to live up to.

Read the description below.  Flora Dane was held hostage for 472 days, a number you will become quite familiar with throughout the book.  We meet Flora 5 years after that kidnapping.  Now living in Boston and trying to adapt to back into society.  But obviously something like that will change you – so she has become obsessed with the abductions of other girls and seems to live between being extra cautious (3 deadbolts on her apartment door) and extra reckless (heading out to bars to entice men.)  Flora is a very complex character, severely scarred from her past, trying to have a future, and yet again finds herself in a compromising (terrifying) situation.

The book starts out action packed, then falls into the rhythm of alternating between Detection D.D. Warren and her team searching for the missing girls, and Flora’s account of her 472 days in captivity and current situation she has found herself in.  It’s set up so perfectly that after the Flora chapters, I needed the almost “break” of what was currently happening to slow my heart-rate and prepare for the next chapter.

Chilling is the best word to describe this book.  I have never had a book terrify me this much.  I don’t want that to sound bad or scare you away – just be prepared (as any good thriller fan should always be!)  I had an inkling as the book went on as to where this was going, but there were still so many pieces to put together (both on Flora’s past and the current case), that I couldn’t get to the end fast enough to put it all together.  And it was tied up perfectly yet still left me thinking about it long into the night.

Thank you to NetGalley & Penguin Books for allowing me to preview.  I also always have to give a special shout out to the author when there are notes at the end – those are my favorite!

You have been warned – don’t miss this book for the ride of your life!  Now onto something a little lighter….maybe!

Book Description:

Flora Dane is a victim. 

Seven years ago, carefree college student Flora was kidnapped while on spring break. For 472 days, Flora learned just how much one person can endure.

Flora Dane is a survivor.

Miraculously alive after her ordeal, Flora has spent the past five years reacquainting herself with the rhythms of normal life, working with her FBI victim advocate, Samuel Keynes. She has a mother who’s never stopped loving her, a brother who is scared of the person she’s become, and a bedroom wall covered with photos of other girls who’ve never made it home.

Flora Dane is reckless. 

. . . or is she? When Boston detective D. D. Warren is called to the scene of a crime—a dead man and the bound, naked woman who killed him—she learns that Flora has tangled with three other suspects since her return to society. Is Flora a victim or a vigilante? And with her firsthand knowledge of criminal behavior, could she hold the key to rescuing a missing college student whose abduction has rocked Boston? When Flora herself disappears, D.D. realizes a far more sinister predator is out there. One who’s determined that this time, Flora Dane will never escape. And now it is all up to D. D. Warren to find her.

Thanks for stopping by today – what do you think – would you read it?

1 Comment

Filed under Chapters

One response to “Book Review: Find Her by Lisa Gardner

  1. I love this series! With each new book, we have new “chilling” situations and characters, and then the familiarity of D. D. Warren, who is like a steadying element in the story. I also like that the author offers a peek into her world, too, reminding us that she is more than just a detective. Can’t wait to get my hands on this one!

Thoughts?

