Book Reviews: A Quick Recap

Blame it on summer, on having no schedule (and no kitchen), but I just can’t seem to keep up with book reviews.  If I don’t write one right away, it just gets put to the back burner.  So I’m organizing what I’ve been reading in a quick post here, with ratings, so I can get this off my plate.  Definitely not my usual style, but better than nothing!

In Kris Calvin’s debut mystery One Murder More, a beautiful legislative aide is found stabbed to death in California’s Capitol building. Maren Kane, a lobbyist for a fledgling Sacramento-based toy company, is in the midst of a legislative fight that could make or break her career. She doesn’t have time for a coffee break let alone involvement in a murder investigation.
But when police arrest Maren’s colleague for the crime, she’s certain they have the wrong man. The cops suspect a crime of passion―love gone wrong. Maren knows that in the capital, money and power drive all things tragic and scandalous. Sex and love are little more than window-dressing.
But will she be able to prove her theory―and free her friend―before she becomes the next victim?
Released: June 1, 2015

My rating & review: 4 bones(out of five)
Provided free through InkShares (in exchange for an honest review)
This was a mystery book in its truest form.  It had you guessing and coming up with theories and although centered around a murder, managed to be on the lighter side.  I loved Maren Kane and would definitely pick up another book in this series (which it appears to be Book #1 of)  And that is saying at lot, as I’m not a series fan.  But she’s likable, clever, and fun to follow.  The reader follows Maren through the murder investigation and no one can escape suspicion.  Which I love as a reader – keeps the pages turning and theories flowing!  Great summer read – highly recommend.


 


In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide?
At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife’s death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge.
Released: June 9, 2015

My rating & review: 3 bones(out of five)
Downloaded free through NetGalley.
By the title, I was expecting a very different story (although I’m not entirely sure why!)  What I found was a complex story about family dynamics.  It held my interest, yet just was lacking something for me.  The story begins as Maya dies.  She is the third wife (hence the name) of Adrian Wolfe.  We come to find he has 2 ex-wives, whom he is still close with, a bunch of children already, and is trying to have more with Maya.  They all take family vacations together and like I said, the relationships which are explored within the book are quite interesting.  The book switches between a few viewpoints, one of them was Maya’s as she received cryptic threatening letters.  There was a bit of mystery as she and the reader try to figure out who sent the letters and if they really wanted her dead.  A good story, nothing to rave about, but held my interest.


I have a gardener’s inherent belief in the natural order of things.  Soft‑petalled flowers that go to seed.  The resolute passage of the seasons.  Swallows that fly thousands of miles to follow the eternal summer.
Children who don’t die before their parents.
When Kate receives a phone call with news that Rosie Anderson is missing, she’s stunned and disturbed. Rosie is eighteen, the same age as Kate’s daughter, and a beautiful, quiet, and kind young woman. Though the locals are optimistic—girls like Rosie don’t get into real trouble—Kate’s sense of foreboding is confirmed when Rosie is found fatally beaten and stabbed.

Who would kill the perfect daughter, from the perfect family? Yet the more Kate entwines herself with the Andersons—graceful mother Jo, renowned journalist father Neal, watchful younger sister Delphine—the more she is convinced that not everything is as it seems. Anonymous notes arrive, urging Kate to unravel the tangled threads of Rosie’s life and death, though she has no idea where they will lead.
Weaving flashbacks from Rosie’s perspective into a tautly plotted narrative, The Bones of You is a gripping, haunting novel of sacrifices and lies, desperation and love.
Released: June 30, 2015

My rating & review: 4 bones(out of five) Downloaded free through NetGalley.
I really enjoyed this book and wish I had given it more justice by reviewing it right away (it’s been just a few weeks, but with other books my mind is just not as fresh as I’d like!)  A really good mystery centered around the death of a young girl.  And a story that contains the theme that things aren’t always what they seem on the outside (pretty relevant in the world of social media.)  Through gut feelings, mysterious notes, and her own investigation, Kate gets tied up in the tangled web that appeared to be the “perfect family.”  Great story that leaves no one free from suspicion and the reader holding on to the very end.


Georgia, Charlie and Alice each arrive at Harvard with hopeful visions of what the future will hold. But when, just before graduation, a classmate is found murdered on campus, they find themselves facing a cruel and unanticipated new reality. Moreover, a charismatic professor who has loomed large in their lives is suspected of the crime. Though his guilt or innocence remains uncertain, the unsettling questions raised by the case force the three friends to take a deeper look at their tangled relationship. Their bond has been defined by the secrets they’ve kept from one another—Charlie’s love and Alice’s envy, Georgia’s mysterious affair—and over the course of the next decade, as they grapple with the challenges of adulthood and witness the unraveling of a teacher’s once-charmed life, they must reckon with their own deceits and shortcomings, each desperately in search of answers and the chance to be forgiven.
Released: July 7, 2015

My rating & review: 2 bones(out of five).  Downloaded free through NetGalley.
I’m reading some raving reviews and I almost feel as if I didn’t read the same book.  Some of it may have been the pace I was reading it, but it just didn’t hold my interest.  I felt it deviated from the story line so far at times (mostly in terms of years gone by), that I even completely missed what actually happened.  I’m embarrassed to say it, but it wasn’t wrapped up in the end for me.  I’m partly tempted to go back and re-read it, as I’m sure I missed it, but the beginning never really hooked me, so I’m just going to let this one go.  I obviously was drawn in by the description, but it just didn’t hold up for me.


 

Thanks for coming by – I’ll try to keep up from now on – but no promises!!  Now to go restock in NetGalley!

1 Comment

Filed under Chapters

One response to “Book Reviews: A Quick Recap

  1. Like you I wasn’t blown away by Lisa Jewell’s The Third Wife, her latest The Girls is so much better. I really did enjoy The Bones of You despite being cautious in the beginning. A great round-up, I hope your re-stock is successful.

Thoughts?

