Teaser Tuesday: June 30th

You’ll have to forgive me.  I don’t know where June has gone!  I’m so far behind on my reviews and even missed last Tuesday.  I promise I have a good excuse though!  On Monday we tore out our kitchen (voluntarily for a remodel I’ll hopefully document later!)  Then on Tuesday, we woke to water in the basement.  So we’re done to a living room and bedrooms right now for all 7 of us!

But I have been reading and will catch up on reviews at some point.  This week, my book choice has me chilled to the bone.  I had to try hard to get this one out of my head so I could sleep last night.  So dark (hence the name) and scary!!  It is A Dark Lure, by Loreth Anne White, and it releases TOMORROW!  It was one of the June Kindle First choices.

“And he was seeing a woman who was trying to hide.  It raised more questions in his mind.  Hide from what?  Where did she come from prior to eight years ago?  Had she tried to kill herself?  Why? When? What exactly was she to his father, to his ranch? What would she do when his father died and this place was sold?”
(26% into book)

What do you think?  I know – very vague – but I thought a good list of questions that I know I hope this book will answer!  Thanks for coming by and bearing with me through my “construction” – please leave your teaser in the comments!

Book Description:

Twelve years ago, Sarah Baker was abducted by the Watt Lake Killer and sexually assaulted for months before managing to escape. The killer was caught, but Sarah lost everything: her marriage, her child, and the life she loved.

Struggling with PTSD, Sarah changes her name to Olivia West and finds sanctuary working on Broken Bar Ranch. But as her scars finally begin to heal, a cop involved with her horrific case remains convinced the Watt Lake Killer is still out there. He sets a lure for the murderer, and a fresh body is discovered. Now Olivia must face the impossible—could the butcher be back, this time to finish the job?

As a frigid winter isolates the ranch, only one person can help Olivia: Cole McDonough, a writer, adventurer, and ranch heir who stirs long-dormant feelings in her. But this time, Olivia’s determination to shut out her past may destroy more than her chance at love. It could cost her her life.

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB/Jenn of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

15 Comments

Filed under Chapters

15 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: June 30th

  1. Sounds a bit too dark for my taste! Hope all your questions are answered as you keep reading though. 🙂

    Here’s my Teaser for this week: http://justasecondblog.blogspot.com/2015/06/teaser-tuesdaysfirst-chapter-first_30.html

  2. The synopsis sounds pretty intense.

    My teaser this week is from an inspirational novel, which I really enjoyed:

    http://pdworkman.com/excerpt-from-the-language-of-sparrows/

  3. That does sound really creepy. My teaser on my adult blog comes from this romantic suspense title – Hell or High Water by Julie Ann Walker. Happy reading!

  4. Oh, this one is definitely my kind of read…the story of someone trying to start over after a severe trauma. I almost have tears in my eyes reading about it.

    Thanks for sharing…and here’s mine, a lighter book: “CATCHING AIR”

  5. This book may be too scary for me! But it sounds fascinating too.
    My Tuesday post features SERENA.

  6. Literary Feline

    I am so sorry to hear about your basement. 😦 I hope the clean up isn’t too costly or bad. Somehow I imagine it won’t be fun though. Good luck with the remodeling!

    I am intrigued by the teaser and would definitely keep reading. Sarah sounds like a character I would like to get to know.

  7. Yvo

    A Dark Lure sounds like such a wonderful creepy read! I will be adding this one to my wishlist! I hope the remodelling won’t take too long. 🙂
    Here’s my teaser this week…

Thoughts?

