Book Review: Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton

Little Black Lies
By Sharon Bolton
Released 5/19/2015
Provided free through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Rating: 4 bones

I’ll admit this was the first time, especially in the same year that I have read two books by the same title and by authors with the same initials!  See my other review here, but other than title (and my enjoyment of the book), the similarities of these two books mostly stop there.  This book actually really reminded me of another read from this year: The Missing One, even the covers kind of look similar (and oddly enough I read it right after the other Little Black Lies and did compare the two!)  Have I confused you yet?

But this book, which just released this week, was filled with mystery until the very end.  It held true to the mystery genre and had the reader suspecting every character at different points, with a jaw-dropping ending.  I seriously had to read 4-5 times to make sure I understood!  The subject matter is one that I don’t dive into much, missing children, just because it is so sensitive to me as a mother.  But I had seen a lot of hype around this book, that it made me want to dive in and I’m glad I did.

The beginning is quite disturbing and I was worried I would have to walk away.  One thing I dislike as much as hurting children, is hurting animals.  And you’ll find out very soon upon starting this book what I am referring to.  It is disturbing yet a defining moment for Catrin’s character.  I had to separate from this part, and thankfully was only referred to in the remainder of the book.  And I did try to see her point of view and understand what happened and I will commend the author was doing that so eloquently.

The book centers around Catrin Quinn.  Having lost her 2 sons in a tragic accident a few years prior at the hands of a trusted friend, she is quite the complex character.  Since her sons had passed, 3 boys in her small community have gone missing and no one knows who they can trust.  I really got a great sense of community as each of the characters were so fully developed, no one wanted to think there could be a killer among them.  Relationships were destroyed, dissected, and tested to the limits.

Packed full of action, there was never a dull moment in reading this book.  In efforts to keep it a mystery to you as well, I’m going to leave it at that.  This book will keep you hanging on to the very end and hopefully with your jaw on the floor with mine!  Beautiful writing, great book.

Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for allowing me to preview!

Book Description:
In such a small community as the Falkland Islands, a missing child is unheard of. In such a dangerous landscape it can only be a terrible tragedy, surely…

When another child goes missing, and then a third, it’s no longer possible to believe that their deaths were accidental, and the villagers must admit that there is a murderer among them. Even Catrin Quinn, a damaged woman living a reclusive life after the accidental deaths of her own two sons a few years ago, gets involved in the searches and the speculation.

And suddenly, in this wild and beautiful place that generations have called home, no one feels safe and the hysteria begins to rise.

But three islanders–Catrin, her childhood best friend, Rachel, and her ex-lover Callum–are hiding terrible secrets. And they have two things in common: all three of them are grieving, and none of them trust anyone, not even themselves.

In Little Black Lies, her most shocking and engaging suspense novel to date, Sharon Bolton will keep the reader guessing until the very last page.

4 Comments

Filed under Chapters

4 responses to “Book Review: Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton

  1. I’ve noticed there seems to be a fashion for books about missing children; I’ve had several in the review pile recently and I’m sure you have too. I’m a mum too – although they’re 20 and 21 – but it’s still something I feel upsetting to read about. This does sound good, though. I may have to move it up the TBR pile – although I’d expect nothing less from Sharon Bolton! Btw I do love your bones scoring system!

  2. As you know I’m reading this at the moment but have also read The Missing One and now I can see the similarities – that defining moment is quite hard to read about!

Thoughts?

