Teaser Tuesday: May 5th

Happy Tuesday!!  Happy May!!  Happy Cinco de Mayo!!  Lots to celebrate this month – including Mother’s Day and my birthday!!

Published two book reviews in the last week: When We Were Animals by Joshua Gaylord, and Maggie by Marie Maxwell.  Both from NetGalley and both released in the last few weeks!

This week I started Black Dog Summer by new author Miranda Sherry.  It released in February and I was approached by the publisher to review.  The description seemed like one I would pick up, so I dove right in and am just about finished.  I have to say it wasn’t what I was expecting, but in a good way.  I also love when I find a quote about the title of the book, so I’m including two teasers this week for fun!


“Seeing a black dog in the clouds?  That forecasts murder.”
(47% into book)

“Black dog symbols can sometimes appear when something bad is about to happen.  Lesedi’s answer brings the first rumble of distant thunder.  Bryony could be in danger.”
(59% into book)

What do you think?  Thanks for coming by – please leave your teaser in the comments!

Book Description:

In this extraordinary debut novel reminiscent of The Lovely Bones and Little Bee, a mother watches from the afterlife as her teenage daughter recovers amidst the startling dysfunction of her extended family.

A small, bright thread of a story weaves out from the moment of my passing and seems to tether me to this place. Perhaps this is why I have not left yet. Perhaps I have no choice but to follow the story to its end.

Compulsively readable and stylistically stunning, Black Dog Summer begins with a murder, a farmstead massacre, in the South African bush. Thirty-eight-year-old Sally is but one of the victims. Her life brutally cut short, she narrates from her vantage point in the afterlife and watches as her sister, Adele, her brother-in-law and unrequited love Liam, her niece Bryony, and her teenage daughter, Gigi, begin to make sense of the tragedy.

A suspenseful drama focusing on marriage and fidelity, sisterhood, and the fractious bond between mothers and daughters, Black Dog Summer asks: In the wake of tragedy, where does all that dark energy linger? The youngest characters, Bryony and Gigi, cousins who are now brought together after Sally’s murder, are forced into sharing a bedroom. Bryony becomes confused and frightened by the violent energy stirred up and awakened by the massacre, while Gigi is unable to see beyond her deep grief and guilt. But they are not the only ones aware of the lurking darkness. Next door lives Lesedi, a reluctant witchdoctor who hides her mystical connection with the dead behind the façade of their affluent Johannesburg suburb.

As Gigi finally begins to emerge from her grief, the fragile healing process is derailed when she receives some shattering news, and in a mistaken effort to protect her cousin, puts Bryony’s life in imminent danger. Now Sally must find a way to prevent her daughter from making a mistake that could destroy the lives of all who are left behind.

Gorgeously written, with a pace that will leave readers breathless, Black Dog Summer introduces a brilliant new voice in fiction.

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB/Jenn of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

14 Comments

Filed under Chapters

14 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: May 5th

  1. This book looks very unique and sounds really intriguing. Nice post:) thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Wow, that’s an interesting storyline!

    Here is mine, a mystery this week: http://pdworkman.com/excerpt-from-the-book-stops-here/

  3. This looks different. I’m adding it to my list. Glad you are enjoying it. Here is my TT http://www.readinggrrl.com/2015/05/teaser-tuesday.html

  4. This one sounds like my kind of read: a mystery, marriage, family, sisterhood…and I loved The Lovely Bones.

    Here’s mine: “DAUGHTERS-IN-LAW”

  5. I do like the sound of this one – I’m fascinated with books that explore the mother/daughter bond – thank you for visiting my Tuesday post https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/05/05/first-chapter-first-paragraph-may-5/

  6. This sounds quite different from any other books I’ve ever read. Sounds like a story I’d enjoy.
    My Tuesday post features ELIZABETH’S LANDING.

  7. Yvo

    Sounds like an interesting read, I will definitely be adding it to my wishlist. Great teaser!

    Here’s my teaser this week. 🙂

  8. Definitely something I would read. I like the teasers and the blurb clinched it.

    Thanks for visiting Write Note Reviews.

Thoughts?

