Teaser Tuesday: April 21st

Happy Tuesday!! (Yes I had the wrong date at first!) First I have to put a little shout out to my husband today on our 8th Anniversary!  We celebrated last weekend at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony – amazing night!

IMG_0001 IMG_5431

Just finished super sad, yet extremely powerful, Trail of Broken Wings by Sejal Badani (my April Kindle First choice.)

Moving on to a NetGalley read, When We Were Animals by Joshua Gaylord which releases TODAY.  Not quite sure what to think about this one, a bit odd so far, very curious to see where it goes!

“The truth is, I liked my strange country.  But I didn’t want anyone feeling sorry for me, as though I were in quarantine.  Couldn’t they see my aloneness was a freedom rather than a prison?”
(24% into book*)

What do you think?  Thanks for coming by – please leave your teaser in the comments!

Book Description:

A small, quiet Midwestern town, which is unremarkable save for one fact: when the teenagers reach a certain age, they run wild.

When Lumen Fowler looks back on her childhood, she wouldn’t have guessed she would become a kind suburban wife, a devoted mother. In fact she never thought she would escape her small and peculiar hometown. When We Were Animals is Lumen’s confessional: as a teenager she fell beneath the sway of her community’s darkest, strangest secret. For one year, beginning at puberty, every resident “breaches” during the full moon. On these nights, adolescents run wild, destroying everything in their path.

Lumen resists. Promising her father she will never breach, she investigates the mystery of her community’s traditions and the stories erased from the town record. But the more we learn about the town’s past, the more we realize that Lumen’s memories are harboring secrets of their own.

A gothic coming-of-age tale for modern times, When We Were Animals is a dark, provocative journey into the American heartland.

*Disclaimer: This quote was pulled from the ARC received through NetGalley and may not match up to the final book.

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB/Jenn of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

14 Comments

Filed under Celebrations, Chapters

14 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: April 21st

  1. Happy Anniversary! I remember when I reached my eighth anniversary, I had been married longer than any of the other women in the office. Including the one who had been through three marriages. Now I’m *really* an old married at 22 years!

    The story has an interesting premise. I’m intrigued.

    Mine this week is another cozy mystery: http://pdworkman.com/excerpt-from-final-catcall/

  2. Happy Anniversary!
    I have this book too and plan on starting it this week. I think it’s going to be a good one. Thanks for stopping by my post:)

  3. Congratulations! This does sound unusual, I’ll be interested to hear how it progresses. My Tuesday post is here https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/04/21/first-chapter-first-paragraph-april-21/

  4. This sounds fabulous! Totally going on my TBR list!

  5. Happy anniversary! What a nice treat.
    My TT for this week: http://wp.me/pZnGI-mO

  6. Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! nice teaser. Here is my TEASER from Total Surrender by Rebecca Zanetti.

Thoughts?

