Teaser Tuesday: April 14th

Happy Tuesday!!  Finally catching a glimpse of spring up here on Lake Erie!  To celebrate – I took my old girl (soon to be 12) for a beautiful walk on the lake!

photo (27)

I’m being a bit lazy this week and teasing the same book as last week.  After spending 10 days on The Turner House, I’m a bit behind on where I thought I would be – so bear with me as I get through this book.  Another sad story – my April Kindle First selection: Trail of Broken Wings by Sejal Hadani.

 

“Some moments in your life you wish never happened; you would do anything to take them back.  They make you realize you are not all-powerful.  That there is a force stronger than you at work.  In those moments, you fall to your knees and abdicate all sense of power.  Offer your hand and ask for help.  If you are lucky, you will feel the touch of something or someone to help you rise.  If not, you stay kneeling, left all alone”
(32% into book)

What do you think? I cannot express how sad this book is, not that I should be surprised by it, but it is hurting my heart so much.  I’m hoping it moves into a message of healing very soon (I’m about half-way through.) I am a strong proponent that all things do happen for a reason, if not immediately apparent, someday to make you stronger or to help someone else.  No idea where this will go, but such a great (or missed) opportunity to bring God in the details.  We’ll see!

Thanks for coming by – please leave your teaser in the comments!

Book Description:

When her father falls into a coma, Indian American photographer Sonya reluctantly returns to the family she’d fled years before. Since she left home, Sonya has lived on the run, free of any ties, while her soft-spoken sister, Trisha, has created a perfect suburban life, and her ambitious sister, Marin, has built her own successful career. But as these women come together, their various methods of coping with a terrifying history can no longer hold their memories at bay.

Buried secrets rise to the surface as their father—the victim of humiliating racism and perpetrator of horrible violence—remains unconscious. As his condition worsens, the daughters and their mother wrestle with private hopes for his survival or death, as well as their own demons and buried secrets.

Told with forceful honesty, Trail of Broken Wings reveals the burden of shame and secrets, the toxicity of cruelty and aggression, and the exquisite, liberating power of speaking and owning truth.

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB/Jenn of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

10 Comments

Filed under Canines, Chapters

10 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: April 14th

  1. Makes me think about the twelve steps – recognizing that we are powerless.

    Mine this week is a cozy mystery: http://pdworkman.com/excerpt-from-death-by-a-honey-bee/

  2. That teaser made me think about a lot of things, and the times I’ve felt so powerless. An interesting teaser. Great choice!

    Here’s my Teaser.

  3. I’d have to be in the right frame of mind to read this sad book. I prefer happy!
    My Tuesday post features AN UNHOLY ALLIANCE.

  4. Yvo

    Wow, that is one powerful teaser! It sounds like a heavy read, but also very interesting… I will be looking forwards on reading your thoughts on this one.

    Here’s my teaser.

  5. This sounds absolutely heart-breaking but also incredibly honest – I do hope you enjoy (if that is the right word?) the rest of this book – I have to admit just from the teaser I’m curious to know how it works out for them all. Thanks for visiting my Tuesday post https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/04/14/first-chapter-first-paragraph-april-14/comment-page-1/#comment-12080

Thoughts?

