Teaser Tuesday: March 24th

Happy Tuesday!  Just finished and reviewed Canary by Duane Swierczynsk – really good book!

On to another NetGalley read – The Dream Lover by Elizabeth Berg releasing April 14th.  Switching it up a little from my mystery tour – back to my old favorite – a historical fiction.  So far it’s one of those reads where I’m having a hard time keeping track of what happened before – am I weird like that?  I have a hard time remembering what I read the night before if it doesn’t make a big impact (or if I just can’t keep my eyes open long enough!)  Anyways – stay tuned and see – but enjoy the teaser for now!


“If I could not fill my days with the kind of affection I still longed for, I would fill them with another, more reliable kind of love, one that engaged my heart, my mind, and my spirit completely, and one that did not betray me.”
(31% into book)

I thought that was quite deep.  What do you think?  Thanks for coming by – please leave your teaser in the comments!

Book Description:

At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family’s estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name—George Sand—and pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle.

Paris in the nineteenth-century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand’s many lovers and friends include Frédéric Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugène Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always be just out of reach—a dream?

Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force, The Dream Lover tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.

 

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB/Jenn of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

11 Comments

Filed under Chapters

11 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: March 24th

  1. Not really my type of read, but I did like the teaser and I hope you are enjoying it. I hate when I can’t remember what I read the night before! 🙂

    Stormi
    Tuesday Teaser

  2. I love Elizabeth Berg’s books…and it’s been a while since I could immerse myself in one of hers….so I have bookmarked this one! Thanks…and I have a problem keeping things straight in books with many back and forth scenarios…so now I keep notes. LOL.

    Thanks for sharing…and here’s mine: “SUMMER SECRETS”

  3. I do love historical fiction too and this is an author I’ve not heard of before – I must remember to keep an eye out for some.

  4. I’m a fan of Elizabeth Berg’s books, so I’m sure I’d enjoy this one too. She’s such a good writer. By the way, I sometimes have to backtrack after I’ve been reading late at night because I’ve missed parts. You’re definitely not the only one!
    My Tuesday post features DEVIOUS.

  5. w0rdtrix

    Sounds good, as well as a bit different from what I am used to from Elizabeth Berg. Mine: Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs

  6. Yvo

    It’s definitely a quote with a deeper meaning and although the book itself doesn’t exactly sound like one I would enjoy, I did enjoy the teaser. I hope you enjoy reading it!

    Here’s my TT.

Thoughts?

