Teaser Tuesday: February 17th

Hello – blogging from negative temperatures up here along beautiful, frozen, Lake Erie!  Allowing me a bit more time to read (only as much as 2 young children will allow though!) Last week I finished Follow the Leader from my teaser last week – great book – 5 bones – check it out!

I’m actually (embarrassed to admit) reading Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn right now – you may have heard of it.  Due to its extreme popularity, I’m choosing my teaser from a book I finished last week – Wreckage by Emily Bleeker.  One of February’s Kindle First reads.  Great, fast read.  Check out my review HERE if this teaser intrigues you!

 “The hope that flashed in Genevieve’s eyes annoyed Lillian.  She’d seen it in dozens of interviews.  The worst moment of her life became a reporter’s hope for career advancement.”
(9% into book)

Thanks for coming by today – stay warm wherever you are!!

Book Description:

Lillian Linden is a liar. On the surface, she looks like a brave survivor of a plane crash. But she’s been lying to her family, her friends, and the whole world since rescue helicopters scooped her and her fellow survivor, Dave Hall, off a deserted island in the South Pacific. Missing for almost two years, the castaways are thrust into the spotlight after their rescue, becoming media darlings overnight. But they can’t tell the real story—so they lie.

The public is fascinated by the castaways’ saga, but Lillian and Dave must return to their lives and their spouses. Genevieve Randall—a hard-nosed journalist and host of a news program—isn’t buying it. She suspects Lillian’s and Dave’s explanations about the other crash survivors aren’t true. And now, Genevieve’s determined to get the real story, no matter how many lives it destroys.

In this intriguing tale of survival, secrets, and redemption, two everyday people thrown together by tragedy must finally face the truth…even if it tears them apart.

 

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

15 Comments

Filed under Chapters

15 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: February 17th

  1. What a great teaser, quite true I should imagine and this sounds like something I’d enjoy. Glad to hear you enjoyed the Mel Sherratt to 🙂 Here is my TT https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/teaser-tuesday-17-february/

  2. That sounds fascinating!
    My TT this week: Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich at http://wp.me/pZnGI-js

  3. Ooh I just downloaded Gone Girl from Amazon after loving the movie (I know, doing it the wrong way round)! ‘Wreckage’ sounds like one hell of a story! Some of my friends want to be journalists and I can totally see them hunting after the truth this way! Thanks for sharing 🙂 Hope you have a great week!
    My Tuesday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  4. That’s an astute observation in your Teaser. I like the way the author writes. Wreckage sounds like a fascinating story.
    My Tuesday post features ALL THAT GLITTERS.

  5. Very intriguing, I want to know more.

  6. We seem to have similar tastes! The teaser is great. As a former journo, I do know what it’s like to see a story in everything.

    I loved Gone Girl – why so embarrassed? I thought it was very clever.

    Thanks for visiting Write Note Reviews.

  7. I wonder what event had the reporter drooling. This is why reporters have such a bad rep.

    My TT – http://fuonlyknew.com/2015/02/17/teaser-tuesdays-102-the-loch-by-steve-alten/

  8. sherry fundin

    I like the cover. The tease was okay, but the blurb really intrigued me. Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

    sherry @ fundinmental

Thoughts?

