Book Review: Monday’s Lie by Jamie Mason


Monday’s Lie (click on book or see below for description)
By Jamie Mason
Release Date: 2/3/15
Downloaded free through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 2 bones

I can’t put my finger on it, but this book just didn’t grab me.  I thought about putting it down several times, because I just couldn’t keep track of what was going on from sitting to sitting and it took me much longer than other books.  It just wasn’t holding my interest.  But I stuck through and while the end ramped up a lot, I just wasn’t invested.  That’s all I can think to describe it.  Maybe it would have been different if I could have sat down and read it through, but it really just didn’t grab me like some other thrillers as of late (think The Girl on the Train or Crash & Burn.)

The book description, as you will see below, mentions suspecting her husband of being someone she may not really know.  We are speaking of Dee Aldrich and her husband Patrick, who wasn’t really introduced into the story until about a quarter of the way in, to my memory, so I actually went back and re-read the description as the story just seemed different from I was promised.  Don’t get me wrong, I actually usually only read the descriptions when I pick out a book, and they aren’t too important once I start a book, I just couldn’t figure out where this one was going.

Another book of mother issues (seems to be my theme of the year – not by choice of course!), Dee flashes back to her childhood a lot during the book to describe just why she is the way she is.  Her mother was some sort of secret spy and they had a lot of secrets growing up because of that.  She took one “Long Trip” as it was referred to throughout the book and that led Dee and her brother Simon to be quite skeptical about pretty much everything.  Her mother passes away as the book begins, but through figures from her life, much is discovered about her and a possible link to Dee’s husband.

Again, this one just didn’t draw me in.  I would have liked more details of Dee & Patrick’s marriage before all of this.  The ending was great – lots of action and thrills, and I liked seeing the correlation between Dee & Simon’s upbringing to how they approached life as an adult, albeit very paranoid!  I’ll admit to try to finish this book, I may have skimmed over parts and missed some details, but overall I was just not into it.  Maybe you feel different?  I’d suggest trying to finish this one in a few sittings to keep track of all the details, nightly reading of a few chapters just didn’t do this book justice.

Thank you to NetGalley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books for allowing me to preview!

Book Description:

From the acclaimed author of the “ripping good” (The New York Times) debut novel Three Graves Full comes a new thriller about a woman who digs into her unconventional past to confirm what she suspects: her husband isn’t what she thought he was.

Dee Aldrich rebelled against her off-center upbringing when she married the most conventional man she could imagine: Patrick, her college sweetheart. But now, years later, her marriage is falling apart and she’s starting to believe that her husband has his eye on a new life…a life without her, one way or another.

Haunted by memories of her late mother Annette, a former covert operations asset, Dee reaches back into her childhood to resurrect her mother’s lessons and the “spy games” they played together, in which Dee learned memory tricks and, most importantly, how and when to lie. But just as she begins determining the course of the future, she makes a discovery that will change her life: her mother left her a lot of money and her own husband seems to know more about it than Dee does. Now, before it’s too late, she must investigate her suspicions and untangle conspiracy from coincidence, using her mother’s advice to steer her through the blind spots. The trick, in the end, will be in deciding if a “normal life” is really what she wants at all.

With pulse-pounding prose and atmospheric settings, Monday’s Lie is a thriller that delivers more of the “Hitchcockian menace” (Peter Straub) that made Three Graves Full a critical hit. For fans of the Coen brothers or Gillian Flynn, this is a book you won’t want to miss.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chapters

Thoughts?

