Teaser Tuesday: December 16th

 

Hello!!  I know it’s been a few weeks – Christmas time business – all good things!

I started a CRAZY one a few nights ago.  I can’t put it down – partially because I can’t find a good place to stop but also because there are NO chapters.  Yeah, that one is kind of annoying.  But it is obviously disturbing and an interesting point of view on a well-known serial killer.

I’m speaking of The Ripper’s Wife by Brandy Purdy, my latest NetGalley read, which released 10/28/14.  I went with an introduction for the teaser – I could go REALLY dark – but I’ll spare you.

 

 

“I was Jack the Ripper’s wife, maybe even the reason, as a clever rhymester once wrote, a man who was society’s pillar became a killer.  This is our own peculiar story.” (2% into book)

Book Description:

A suspenseful, spellbinding novel of love, jealousy, and murder, The Ripper’s Wife reimagines the most notorious serial killer in history through the eyes of the woman who sealed his fate.

“Love makes sane men mad and can turn a gentle man into a fiend.”

It begins as a fairytale romance–a shipboard meeting in 1880 between vivacious Southern belle Florence Chandler and handsome English cotton broker James Maybrick. Courtship and a lavish wedding soon follow, and the couple settles into an affluent Liverpool suburb.

From the first, their marriage is doomed by lies. Florie, hardly the heiress her scheming mother portrayed, is treated as an outsider by fashionable English society. James’s secrets are infinitely darker–he has a mistress, an arsenic addiction, and a vicious temper. But Florie has no inkling of her husband’s depravity until she discovers his diary–and in it, a litany of bloody deeds. . .

Thanks for stopping by today – be sure to leave your teaser in the comments, and enjoy this wonderful holiday season!

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

6 Comments

Filed under Chapters

6 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: December 16th

  1. Great teaser and book outline – enjoy!
    Mine’s the new WWI release Of Love and War series HOPE RISING

  2. I’m sure you guessed that I’d love the sound of this one; a great premise for a book that I will be looking out for. Thanks for visiting my TT https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/12/16/teaser-tuesday-december-16/

  3. The minute I saw the title, I wondered if it would be Jack the Ripper’s wife. It sounds like it could be a great read. I know I really enjoyed Mary Reilly years ago (Dr Jekyll’s maid servant).
    My TT this week was the basis for the opera La Bohème – http://wp.me/pZnGI-gt

  4. fuonlyknew

    I’m still trying to finish a book that not only doesn’t have chapters. It also doesn’t have paragraphs. The story is good but I find myself looking for a stopping place.
    Here’s my TT – http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/12/16/teaser-tuesdays-92-dependent/

    • There are apparently some problems with the Net Galley edition, I haven’t seen it personally but have heard about this from more than one person. I’m very sorry to hear about these problems and I can assure you they are not duplicated in the print edition, the paperback is properly formatted with chapters.

      • No worries – thank you for taking the time to explain! I still really enjoyed the book! I know with NetGalley things aren’t always perfect – but it is a risk I’m willing to take to preview great books like this – thank you!

Thoughts?

