Teaser Tuesday: November 4th

It’s November!  And election day – did you vote?  I’m hoping to score my first OH voter sticker (and hopefully help change the direction of this country for the better!) later today!

new-voting-sticker

This week’s book is a newer release that I’ve had in my NetGalley queue for way too long (so long that I missed its release date – oops!) But one that’s been on my list as it takes place in one of my favorite eras!  It’s An American Duchess by Sharon Page.

“Suddenly, he saw what Miss Gifford was already bringing into his household.
The bloody modern world.
He didn’t want it here.”

(5% into book)

Book Description:

At the height of the Roaring Twenties, New York heiress Zoe Gifford longs for the freedoms promised by the Jazz Age. Headstrong and brazen, but bound by her father’s will to marry before she can access his fortune, Zoe arranges for a brief marriage to Sebastian Hazelton, whose aristocratic British family sorely needs a benefactor. 

Once in England, her foolproof plan to wed, inherit and divorce proves more complicated than Zoe had anticipated. Nigel Hazelton, Duke of Langford and Sebastian’s austere older brother, is disgraced by the arrangement and looks down upon the raucous young American who has taken up residence at crumbling Brideswell Abbey. Still reeling from the Great War, Nigel is now staging a one-man battle against a rapidly changing world—and the outspoken Zoe represents everything he’s fighting against. When circumstances compel Zoe to marry Nigel rather than Sebastian, she does so for love, he for honor. But with Nigel unwilling to change with the times, Zoe may be forced to choose between her husband and her dreams.

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

16 Comments

Filed under Chapters

16 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: November 4th

  1. Haha! Love the teaser! I’ve read a few books from this period recently and am enjoying them, so I will look for this one. Thanks for sharing!
    Today I’m featuring Sing In The Morning, Cry At Night by Barbara J. Taylor.

  2. Looks like a very interesting read! I haven’t read many books set in the 20s, but what a fascinating time period it is – and the plot for this one sounds like something I’d like.

    My teaser is from a Regency setting: http://justasecondblog.blogspot.com/2014/11/teaser-tuesdays-november-4-2014.html

  3. Nice tease and it really highlights the tone of the book.

  4. This sounds like a great read!
    Mine this week is from Two Graves by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child at http://wp.me/pZnGI-fo

  5. This one looks good! I like the idea of the clash between the new ideas and the old. Hope it’s a great read!

  6. Ooh I love this period of history too. Love the teaser and the obvious distrust of impending change. Thanks for visiting my TT http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/11/04/teaser-tuesday-november-4/

  7. This sounds like a delightful story! I love to read books set in that era.
    My Tuesday post features a Navajo mystery by Tony Hillerman: THE BLESSING WAY.

  8. Nice teaser.

    Mine this week is a historical romance/adventure set around the opium trade in early America: http://pdworkman.com/excerpt-from-against-the-tide-teasertuesday/

  9. fuonlyknew

    I think it’s way too late. LOL This sounds fun.
    Here’s my TT – http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/11/04/teaser-tuesdays-88-real-elves-an-emily-castle-mystery/

  10. Generally I’m not big on historical fiction, but I hope you enjoy it!!

    Here are My Teasers.

Thoughts?

