Book Review: My Sister’s Grave by Robert Dugoni


My Sister’s Grave (click on book for description or see below)
By Robert Dugoni
Releases 11/1/14
Downloaded free as my October Kindle First Read

Rating: 5 bones

Finish Time: 8 nights.  Don’t let that fool you though – it took me a few nights to get going (and I’ve been extra tired), but I finished probably 75% of it in the last 3 (late) nights.  This book really surprised me and I’m happy to have another 5-bone review this year finally!

This book was the whole package for me and I really had no idea where it was going to go.  It kept me interested, throwing around different theories in my head, and completely guessing and frantically turning pages until the very end.

20 years ago, Tracy and Sarah Crosswhite (sisters) parted ways from a shooting tournament, Tracy to go get engaged, Sarah, supposed to be headed home.  The next morning it was discovered that Sarah never made it home as her truck was discovered on the side of a country road.  While her body was never found, a local with a sketchy past, Edmund House, was convicted of her murder and sent to jail.  While for some, like Tracy & Sarah’s parents, this was closure enough (at least it was prior to their deaths), it wasn’t for Tracy who wouldn’t be satisfied until she knew the truth.  At the time of Sarah’s disappearance, Tracy was a teacher/professor, but her own personal investigation into her sister’s death, began an obsession, and led her to make a career as a homicide detective in Seattle, WA.

The story picks up at current day, 20 years after Sarah’s disappearance, when Sarah’s body is finally discovered.  Motivated even more by new evidence, Tracy pushes to get the case re-opened by helping to get Edmund House a new trial based on inconsistencies she had found in her own personal investigations on his first trial.  She is thrown back into a world that she has somewhat put behind her, in the community of Cedar Grove, who is still mourning the loss of one of their own.

I enjoyed Tracy reconnecting with a childhood friend, Dan O’Leary and his two big dogs, Sherlock and Rex, as Dan also recently returned home to practice law.  I enjoyed the banter with the local “brass”, as she called the authorities, and also with her co-workers in Seattle.  Everything just flowed together flawlessly and made for a really enjoyable read.  As I mentioned in true mystery novel sense, I had my guesses as to “who killed Sarah” and even came up with some theories of my own, but not one of them was close to the real story, which was nicely wrapped up in the end.  It’s not that cut and dry, the book is so choke full of suspense, thrills, edge of your seat excitement, twists and turns, and even a little romance, that I’m afraid I’ll divulge too much if I say anymore!

And bonus points to Mr. Dugoni for author’s notes at the end.  Those are quickly becoming my favorite things to read as just a glimpse into the author’s background on why they wrote the story, who helped them, and/or how they came up with it.  I will definitely read more of his books as the opportunity arises and kuddos to Kindle First for choosing this book to offer for October.  Check out his website here too for more info.  And I did just notice that My Sister’s Grave is the first in a series, and while I’m not usually a series fan, this one has me hooked, so I’ll definitely be on the lookout for that one!

My Sister’s Grave comes out Saturday November 1st – you really don’t want to miss this one!

Book Description:

Tracy Crosswhite has spent twenty years questioning the facts surrounding her sister Sarah’s disappearance and the murder trial that followed. She doesn’t believe that Edmund House—a convicted rapist and the man condemned for Sarah’s murder—is the guilty party. Motivated by the opportunity to obtain real justice, Tracy became a homicide detective with the Seattle PD and dedicated her life to tracking down killers.

When Sarah’s remains are finally discovered near their hometown in the northern Cascade mountains of Washington State, Tracy is determined to get the answers she’s been seeking. As she searches for the real killer, she unearths dark, long-kept secrets that will forever change her relationship to her past—and open the door to deadly danger.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Chapters

4 responses to “Book Review: My Sister’s Grave by Robert Dugoni

  1. Mom

    Sounds like a great book! I’ll have to get it to read!

  2. So glad to hear this book lived up to the early promise. I’m looking forward to reading my copy 🙂

  3. Pingback: Friday Finds (October 31) | Cleopatra Loves Books

Thoughts?

