Teaser Tuesday: September 16th

Hello!  Happy Tuesday!  And almost Happy Fall here in beautiful OH!  Chilly mornings have us pulling out the jackets already.  As I updated last week – I’ve been reading a lot, just slacking on reviews.  But I was able to complete these 2 since last Tuesday:  (and hopefully more to come on a regular basis.)

The Seventh Mother by Sheri Wood Emmons.  NetGalley Read.
Released 7/29/14. 4 bones.
The Children Act by Ian McEwan.
NetGalley Read.  Released 9/9/14. 3 bones.

And my teasers this week is from September’s Kindle First read The Moonlight Palace by Liz Rosenberg – back in my comfort zone of historical fiction!  Click on the book for description.  They are only a few sentences apart – I like the first one and the second is a little intro to the main character, plot of the story!

 “Let’s agree right here at the outset that memory is made up of one part perception, one part intuition, and one part true invention.”

“Because I was orphaned at such a young age – I had not yet started school – I believe my relatives thought that any discussion of that past might harm me, even the distant past.  So I became a detective early.  I hunted for linking bits and corners and put together something that looks like this:”
(5% into book)

Thanks for stopping by and please leave your teaser in the comments!  See you next week!

 

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

16 Comments

Filed under Chapters

16 responses to “Teaser Tuesday: September 16th

  1. oh this tease will make me go back and look at this one! I over looked it when I got that amazon email. thanks for sharing!

    trish – my tt

  2. I liked the teasers so much that I had to go and check out the book for myself. Thanks for sharing and for visiting my TT http://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2014/09/16/teaser-tuesday-september-16/

  3. These are good. I will be heading over to goodreads to check it out further.

    My Teasers

  4. That’s a great tease! I really like thinking about the idea of memory and how it operates. Also the way adults try to “protect” kids from things often has the opposite effect on them. Cool choice, thanks for sharing!!
    My Teasers.

  5. Great choice. That’s a good hook about memory.
    Mine this week is Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse #1) by Charlaine Harris. http://wp.me/pZnGI-dk

  6. I recently had a conversation with a friend about memory and how it works. Fascinating stuff! The Moonlight Palace sounds like a story I’d enjoy.
    Here’s the link to my Tuesday post: Tumbleweeds.

  7. fuonlyknew

    Lovely cover and interesting title. That first teaser is a doozie. One to ponder:)
    Here is my TT – http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/09/16/teaser-tuesdays-81-free-short-story-raker-by-christopher-a-gray-move-over-robocop/

  8. Nice teaser. It’s a book I’d look at, for sure.

Thoughts?

