Book Review: The Seventh Mother by Sherri Wood Emmons

The Seventh Mother
By Sherri Wood Emmons
Released 7/29/14
Provided free through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 4 bones

Finish Time: 4 nights.  I’ll have to admit – I put this book off for a while.  Obviously I had requested it, as it peaked my interest, but then I started worrying that the subject matter might be too rough.  Being a mom of young kids (or really just a human) the thought of a child not having 2 loving parents just hurts my heart.  So I put it off, but I did finally read it, and I’m glad I did.

The story centers around Jenny, an eleven-year old being raised by her father, Brannon.  Her mother died when she was just three and since then they have moved around a lot and with new “mothers”, really just girlfriends of Brannon.  But after a while each one would leave and they would move onto the next job opportunity in their mobile home.  While Jenny was subjected to hearing some things that were not appropriate for a child her age, I was pleasantly surprised that she spoke fondly of most of the women in her life (but what she liked about them or how they treated her).  I guess I had in my head with that many women in and out that there would have been some abuse – but there was not thankfully.  Brannon really raised her well, had her home/computer schooled and really doted on her.  Albeit more independent and granted more freedom than my kids will have at that age, but loved and cared for for the most part.  Just longing for stability and a home, which still hurts the heart.

Enter Emma, the best of them all according to Jenny.  I guess, like the others, moved in pretty quickly with her dad.  Jenny would pray that she would stick around and not leave like the others.  The reader gets glimpses of why the others may have left and I’ll just say my guesses were not quite on the ball and the story develops into the quite the thriller, even mystery maybe.  I don’t want to spoil anything, but this book took a turn that I was not expecting, made for a great read, and depending on how you look at it, had a good ending.

So all in all, I’m glad I finally read this book.  It will pull at your heartstrings a bit, but hang on for the ride, and it’s an enjoyable read.

Description from NetGalley:

The summer that her father falls in love with Emma, Jenny Bohner is just turning eleven. Jenny was three when her mother died, and since then Brannon Bohner has traveled with his daughter from one seasonal job to another, picking up girlfriends along the way. Cara, Ami, Trish–all were sweet and kind, but none ever stayed for long. Somehow Emma is different, traveling with them from Idaho to Kentucky, filling Jenny with hopes of a real family at last.

Emma’s warmth and optimism are contagious, defusing Brannon’s flashes of temper and making their first weeks together everything Jenny has dreamed of. Yet something still troubles her, surfacing through years of memories–tempting her from within boxes Jenny has been told never to touch, filled with hidden mementoes from long ago. And somewhere among them Jenny will find answers that compel her to choose–between the home she longs for, the love she craves, and the hard truth she can no longer ignore. . .

 

2 Comments

Filed under Chapters

2 responses to “Book Review: The Seventh Mother by Sherri Wood Emmons

  1. Oh this sounds like a wonderful read and containing the sort of elements that make me love a book. Thank you so much for bringing this one to my attention.

Thoughts?

