The Broken Beautiful

3-IMG_2944

It’s Tuesday – I should be teasering, or writing one of the 2 reviews for books I have finished this past week, or probably unpacking and organizing our new house (the reason I’ve been MIA for the last two weeks.)  But today I’m taking a day off – I took the kids to the zoo this beautiful AM (which by the way it was 66 degrees when we left the house!) and now I’m sitting down, something I haven’t done much of lately, and wanted to post a short, much overdue, song post!

1-IMG_3054

This one is inspired by my LL, who has proclaimed this her favorite song as of late.  It’s an upbeat song, one I’ve now listened to a thousand times, but today actually took some time to meditate on the words and realized it really applies to life right now.  In a few ways.  More literally – our “broken” house – broken meaning old and a bit neglected for this example.  It has its dents, scratches, stains, lots of wear and tear, and in need of much repair.  But we came in and are working on it – some rooms look great, others will get there, but we saw the potential and can make this broken house beautiful (in time.)

4-IMG_2959

Sound familiar?  Maybe how God is working in all of us?  At least I see this in me.  I’ve read, and been taught, that we all are broken vessels, jars of clay, that God repairs, time and time again, and not just repairs, makes beautiful.  Broken in this case is referring to our sins, our transgressions, our past, all things that God sees and knows and loves us in spite of.  In this time of change, unknowns, homesickness, trying to make our home a home, trying to make new friends and find out where we fit in, I have days where I feel very broken.  So today I wanted to put out this short reminder (mainly to myself but maybe it will help a few others too) that God will make all of this beautiful.  He always does, and even if I don’t see it right away or even soon, I can rest knowing He does and He is right beside me and working on it.  AND I need to focus on the beauty that is already here, my husband, my kids, my family & friends, my dogs, too much to even list! I’ve added a few verses to some pictures taken lately (it really is beautiful here!), and will leave you with this one I find especially hopeful and had found listed as inspiration for Ellie Holcomb’s song, video and verses below.

You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy.
Psalm 30:11

Thanks for stopping by today – I’ll get back to book reviews and hopefully some home updates in the next few days/weeks, but today am resting in the beauty I am surrounded by.  Have a blessed, beautiful week!

The Broken Beautiful
Ellie Holcomb

I know that I don’t bring a lot to the table
Just little pieces of a broken heart
There’s days I wonder if You’ll still be faithful
Hold me together when I fall apart?
Would You remind me now of who You are?

That Your love will never change,
that there’s healing in your name
That You can take broken things,
and make them beautiful
You took my shame
And You walked out of the grave
So Your love can take broken things
and make them beautiful

I’m better off when I begin to remember
How You have met me in my deepest pain
So give me glimpses now of how You have covered
All of my heart ache, oh with all Your grace
Remind me now that You can make a way

That Your love will never change,
that there’s healing in your name
That You can take broken things,
and make them beautiful
You took my shame
And You walked out of the grave
So Your love can take broken things
and make them beautiful

You say that You’ll turn my weeping into dancing
Remove my sadness & cover me with joy
You say your scars are the evidence of healing
That You can make the broken beautiful

You make us beautiful, oh oh
You make us beautiful

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Broken Beautiful

  1. Mom

    Great post!! And great song, too! Way to be upbeat and positive about all the changes happening in your lives right now!! (I heard this song with you and the children in the car last week – it was my first time hearing it!) I’m going to go and download it now!! Love to all, Mom

Thoughts?

