Book Review: You by Caroline Kepnes

You
By Caroline Kepnes
Releases 9/30/14
Downloaded free through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Rating: 4 bones

Finish Time: 5-6 nights.  Well this was quite a deviation from my normal read.  Which is a good thing but this was sick and twisted and kept me up thinking after I finished it.  Could someone really be that messed up to think the stuff they are doing makes sense?  Obviously, not that this book is based on a true story, but I’m thinking there are some crazies just like Joe out there.

Meet Joe Goldberg.  Generic enough name.  Seems like a normal enough dude.  Manages a book store, seems likable enough, I guess is attractive based on his ability to “get the girl.”  The book is entirely from Joe’s point of view speaking to “You”.  “You” is Guinevere Beck, simply “Beck” to all who know her.  She seems like a normal girl, but something about her gets Joe’s attention, his undivided attention, the day she walks into his bookstore.

The stalking begins.  And accelerates.  Joe dig into Beck’s life through both Google and following her, and finds out a whole lot of information.  Very scary how fast someone can do that in this day and age.  It doesn’t hurt that Beck is a bit of a voyeur, but the reader soon learns, she’s an impressionable young woman who is easily taken advantage of.  But then a “chance” encounter in a train station allows Joe to jump in as Beck’s savior, and their relationship begins.

I’m tempted to use too many quotes as again, relationship is a rough word.  To her it seems like the beginning of a courtship (I sound so old!), to Joe, it is all part of the plan.  He gets possession of her phone and can be even more woven into her life.  They have their ups and downs, all with Beck having no idea about Joe’s extra level of craziness/knowledge/craftiness.  You’ll just have to take my word for it and read it because that’s just what he does – crazy, twisted, well thought out things.  Call it for love, maybe.  In his head, which as the reader, you are in, it makes sense.  If there is an obstacle that is in the way of Beck loving you, ofcourse, by all means it should be taken care of.  You’ll get it if you read it.

Joe is calm and collected for most of the book and if you had no sense of right or wrong, maybe you could relate?  I have no idea.  I would compare it to a train wreck, but I’m not one that would watch it, but that analogy holds true.  It was so awful (the situation not the book), that I had to keep turning the pages to find out what happens.  I am not going to say it was predictable because that totally depends on what kind of outlook you have on life or situations.  But it was a fitting ending and I will leave it at that.

Again, just a different read for me.  And I’m basing my rating on the fact that it kept me up late wanting to know what happened next and that it was very well written.  Now I’m going to lock my door, turn on the alarm, get my dogs, and hope that no one is out there watching me!

Description from Net Galley:

Love hurts…

When aspiring writer Guinevere Beck strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe works, he’s instantly smitten. Beck is everything Joe has ever wanted: She’s gorgeous, tough, razor-smart, and as sexy as his wildest dreams.

Beck doesn’t know it yet, but she’s perfect for him, and soon she can’t resist her feelings for a guy who seems custom made for her. But there’s more to Joe than Beck realizes, and much more to Beck than her oh-so-perfect façade. Their mutual obsession quickly spirals into a whirlwind of deadly consequences . . .

A chilling account of unrelenting passion, Caroline Kepnes’s You is a perversely romantic thriller that’s more dangerously clever than any you’ve read before.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Chapters

2 responses to “Book Review: You by Caroline Kepnes

  1. Pingback: KINDLE BOOKS

Thoughts?

