Book Review: Prime Deception by Carys Jones

Prime Deception (click on book or see below for description)
By Carys Jones
Released 4/7/14
Downloaded free through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Rating: 3 bones

Finish Time: 3 nights.  A mystery by true definition, really kept me guessing until the very end.  And I’ll call myself out right away – took me until the end to figure out the title.  The book follows the Prime Minister of England, thus it is a true story of “Prime” deception, pun intended.

This book starts with a death, ruled a suicide, then a flashback to the deceased by the one who loved her.  But ofcourse nothing is as it seems and it becomes clear that Lorna Thomas was not a girl who would take her own life, but the question begs, who did?

As the Prime Minister, who was having an affair with Lorna begins to have this question in his time of grief, conveniently Lorna comes back from the dead to help!  But actually it’s just her twin Laurie.  Call me whatever you want, I’m not a fan of identical twin stories, seems too easy?  That’s not what I mean, I still could never write like this author, maybe cheesy to me?  Anyways, Laurie is different from Lorna is everything but looks, but decides that to solve this mystery, she must dive into Lorna’s world.

It’s a good story, kept me turning pages, and trying to figure it out til the very end, which was a bit of a surprise.  Not very likable characters, fine, well drawn, just no one I cared about or rooted for.  I think my favorite was the secretary to the prime minister who, let’s just say, saw through all the B.S.  If only she had talked!

A quick read, well written, love the cover (even though I read on my Kindle Paperwhite– looking at it now above – the yellow on black looks awesome!), and I greatly appreciate being invited to read this book through NetGalley.  At .99 on Amazon right now – don’t pass this up – great deal for a good story!

Description from Amazon:

John Quinn, an investigative journalist on England’s biggest-selling and most notorious tabloid newspaper, is about to write the story of his life – a kiss-and-tell with one of the country’s most powerful men at its heart. But the story dies when Lorna Thomas, the kiss in his kiss-and-tell, kills herself on a quiet country road.

Unable to accept her twin’s suicide, Laurie Thomas follows in her sister’s footsteps to London and to the heart of government. And as she becomes more involved in Lorna’s world, she grows more convinced than ever that Lorna did not take her own life. But if Lorna didn’t kill herself, who did?

Leave a comment

Filed under Chapters

Thoughts?

