Because I knew you – I have been changed FOR GOOD!

I’ve heard it said,
That people come into our lives
For a reason
Bringing something we must learn.
And we are lead to those
Who help us most to grow if we let them.
And we help them in return.
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you.

Wow, I cannot believe I have to write this.  My heart is so heavy, which may be why much of it will be staying in GA as we head up to OH.  To all of our friends, family, neighbors, to all of those who have been in our lives the last 11 years for me, 18 for Steven, 4.5 for Molly, and 2.5 for Cooper, we will miss you.  You have all taught us, comforted us, loved us, prayed for us, prayed with us, grown with us, celebrated with us, grieved with us, helped us, been with us through good and bad, ups and downs, and because of that, we are all who we are today.

It well may be
That we will never meet again
In this lifetime.
So, let me say before we part:
So much of me
Is made of what I learned from you.
You’ll be with me
Like a handprint on my heart.
And now whatever way our stories end
I know you’ll have rewritten mine
By being my friend.

This song brought me goose bumps when it was just a song in a musical (albeit the best musical ever – Wicked), now I could not think of a better way to express my feelings on physically leaving all of you.  And you all know by now I like to express myself in song, so this is my chosen Swan Song (Sing Off anyone?)

In Wicked, Glinda, the good witch, sings this song with Elphaba, the “wicked” witch, when their lives take different directions and they must part ways.  They started as enemies but developed an unusual friendship which each of them came to cherish.  Their paths may never cross again, but because of knowing each other, they were changed for good.

I think I will keep it short, because this song really says it all (and I could probably ramble on for quite sometime), take a listen below.  Each one of you has left a hand-print on my heart, and in a great book metaphor from this song, has been rewritten my story by you being my friend.  This also is true of all the other chapters in our lives, God places people in our lives at very specific times for a reason, and this song speaks to that truth.  I hope it is not the case, but we may not meet again, as everyone moves on, but I am still so thankful I knew you, even if only for this chapter.

“Whatever way our stories end, I know you’ll have rewritten mine by being my friend”

Thank you from the bottom of our hearts, we love you, we will miss you, and we have been changed for the better because you were in our lives.  Keep in touch, come visit, and we will be back.

“Because I knew you, I have been changed for good”


*Not the full song from Wicked (find that here) but the best video I could find to embed.  Or here are the lyrics.

And a post from me would not be complete without a few bible verses.  Here are a few on friendship and the companionship of others that I’ve been meditating on this week:

Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom for the future.
Proverbs 19:20 

Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.
Proverbs 27:17

1-IMG_1951
Two are better than one,
Because they have a good reward for their labor.
For if they fall, one will lift up his companion.
But woe to him who is alone when he falls,
For he has no one to help him up.
Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Amen – thanks for reading.  Stay tuned for much more from OH, love you all!

2 Comments

Filed under Calling, Celebrations, Chapters, Children

2 responses to “Because I knew you – I have been changed FOR GOOD!

  1. Mom

    What a beautiful, heartfelt post. I will miss you so much. I love you!

  2. Emily

    What a great post. I am so glad we are family and we will get to visit, hopefully, a lot. But nothing compares to having you guys a short 10 min drive away! You all have, and will continue to impact our lives! We love you so much!!

Thoughts?

