This is Amazing Grace; Happy Palm Sunday!

1-image (2)

Happy Palm Sunday!  Great church service this AM.  Following a tough week.  Nothing crazy, just frustrating.  Tired of waiting.  Waiting for our house to sell, so then we can pack, move, and work on getting settled in and most importantly get our family back together.  I have never felt so out of control, a slave to real estate.

Many are the plans in the mind of a man,
    but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.
Proverbs 19:21

BUT this morning I was reminded of something I know, something I pray about daily, but something I need to be told every second of every day.  I am NOT in control, but God is, and He is capable of miracles.  This morning Pastor David at Evergreen Church, preached about another life-changing event (part 6 or 7 in a series of life-changing events throughout the Bible).  Today was the blind man who Jesus made see (John 9.)

Jesus is capable of performing miracles, life-changing ones.  But in time.  And I’m not good at waiting.  Are you?  Probably not, but let’s chat if you are.  Some days I can be optimistic.  Other days I want to throw a tantrum and yell at anyone who will listen.  I know it could be worse but I find myself pleading with God.  And I keep being told to wait, a little longer.  I continue to go back to my guiding verse.  Jeremiah 29.  He knows the plans for ME, and they aren’t meant to harm me, He wants me to prosper, and have a future.  But when?

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord,
“plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.
Jeremiah 29:11

I’m posting this more for me than anyone (but I hope you can use it too.)  He has proven time and time again, He will prevail, and IT WILL BE GOOD!  And this week as we enter into Holy week.  A week that defines everything we believe in.  I need to take a step back and put things in perspective.  Our LORD, sent His son JESUS to wear our crown, take our sins, and set us free.  And we can soon declare “HE IS RISEN!”  Wow.

This is Amazing Grace.  And love, and so much more.  This song came to mind today as the verses from the original Amazing Grace sang through my mind hearing the story of the blind man “I once was blind but now I see.”  I love this new take on it.  He can do amazing things that no one else can or can even imagine.  Meditate on this song today and this week.  I know I will be as I wait.

*And the picture at top was made by my LL of Jesus surrounded by Palms  – after what she learned at church today!  This makes my heart melt!

This is Amazing Grace
by Phil Wickham

Who breaks the power of sin and darkness
Whose love is mighty and so much stronger
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Who shakes the whole earth with holy thunder
And leaves us breathless in awe and wonder
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

This is amazing grace
This is unfailing love
That You would take my place
That You would bear my cross
You lay down Your life
That I would be set free
Oh, Jesus, I sing for
All that You’ve done for me

Who brings our chaos back into order
Who makes the orphan a son and daughter
The King of Glory, the King of Glory

Who rules the nations with truth and justice
Shines like the sun in all of its brilliance
The King of Glory, the King above all kings

Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy is the King who conquered the grave
Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy is the King who conquered the grave
Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy is the King who conquered the grave
Worthy is the Lamb who was slain
Worthy, worthy, worthy
Oh

 

6 Comments

Filed under Calling, Celebrations, Children

6 responses to “This is Amazing Grace; Happy Palm Sunday!

  1. Mom

    Beautiful post and beautiful picture by my granddaughter!! I love you!!

  2. Henrietta Little

    Thanks K, I needed to hear this too!!

  3. Oh my gosh, that is the verse that got me through some extremely dark times. I am no good at waiting either, and I had to keep hanging on to those words.

    • I’m still waiting to hear from someone who is good at waiting!! I know it will be worth it and I’m thankful for great verses like this and stories throughout the Bible (and life) to hang onto. Thanks for reading and commenting!!

Thoughts?

