Why they say Cleveland Rocks!

So you’ve heard by now, we are relocating up north, like way up north.  Take a pencil from Atlanta and go directly north as far as you can in the US and you’ll hit Cleveland, OH.  Not a foreign land to me, like it may be to many born and bred southerners, after all I am from Philadelphia and spend 19 years of my life in Pennsylvania.  But it may be to you, so that is why I am posting today things to look forward to in Cleveland.  This list is not only for my own reference, but also yours as we want you to come visit.

I think by now I have expressed how much I will miss everyone in GA (and the GA weather especially this time of year), so this list serves as my way of justifying that I can do this (and maybe convince you to come too!).  Atlanta will always hold a (large) piece of my heart and has so many great points too (in case I am too convincing for you!)  Ha!

I am excited to reconnect with family that I haven’t seen in a while.  And ofcourse to be closer to Penn State!  (Hoping to take Steven and the kids to their first game this fall!)  Cleveland is a bit smaller than Atlanta, so we are also hoping traffic will not be a huge stress for us, and most importantly, will allow us to find a MUCH better commute for Steven.  Like 15 miles (v. 55), one way!

Some fun Cleveland nicknames before I start are: Forest City, Metropolis of the Western Reserve, The Rock and Roll Capital of the World, The Plum City, C-Town, The Cleve, Sixth City, North Coast, Mistake on the Lake, Halle Berry’s Hometown, Comeback City, Land of tha Heartless (found from this fun blog here!)

Now onto some things my detailed research has found:

download download (2)

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame – a place that I’d say at least 50% of the people I mention Cleveland to automatically mention.  With music being such a big part of our lives, I think we’ll soon become members!  Steven is excited to take the kids to teach them all about music, especially The Beatles exhibit, whose songs LL has been singing since she could talk.  It looks like they have preschool programs and many events that will keep us entertained all year round!  We’ll be sure to have some extra tickets on hand for your visit too!

download (1)

The Great Lakes Science Center looks like an awesome museum too, as Cleveland sits right on Lake Erie.  Home of the OmniMax, great exhibits, and even a Polymer Funhouse for the little ones.  This place is high on our list of things to do!

The West Side Market – I have seen this listed on every list of what Cleveland has to offer, and agree that it deserves a spot as this place looks awesome!  Cannot wait to make this a weekly stop.  Sounds perfect on my quest to eat cleaner and local!

  • Produce Is Fresh Daily
  • A Wide Selection of Organic Foods
  • Unique and Specialty Items Found No Where Else
  • Produce Costs an Average of 30% Less than Grocery Stores
  • Higher Quality & Better Selection of Meats
  • The Best Butchers in the Area
  • Family Owned Businesses, Operating as Long as 75 Years
  • Personal Service
  • Weekly Specials in All Areas of the Market for a Greater Value

“Today the market is home to over 100 vendors of great ethnic diversity. You can find not only fine meats and fresh vegetables, but also fresh seafood, baked goods, dairy and cheese products, and even fresh flowers. There are also booths that sell ready-to-eat foods, herbs, candy and nuts.”

Lots of other museums/places to go including (but not limited to):

download (3) imagesimages (1)download (9) thumb_CleMetZoo thumb_GCA_shark0

One local place (to where we will be staying for awhile) is the:

logo

Lake Erie Science and Nature Center – This looks like it has programs and events geared toward the little ones.  Including being able to adopt your own animal!  And it even has a planetarium – I haven’t been to one of those in forever – I think the kids will love it!

download (4)

If none of those are convincing enough, behind the Rock & Roll HOF, the second most mentioned landmark is Cedar Point in Sandusky, OH.  This amusement park, located on a Lake Erie peninsula, is less than an hour from Cleveland, and boasts some of the biggest, baddest roller coasters in the world!  Now if this doesn’t get you up our way – I don’t know what will!

“Cedar Point is known for a couple of things. It’s known as the roller coaster capital of the world. But some just refer to Cedar Point as the world’s best amusement park. Cedar Point is an amusement park that brings people together through thrills. With 120-mph roller coasters that have 80-degree drops. An amusement park that, on top of roller coasters, has exhilarating thrill rides. An amusement park that has rides for the entire family and gives you water rides that make you wonder why it’s simply only the roller coaster capital of the world. And, of course, Cedar Point amusement park gives you great dining. What else would you expect from the roller coaster capital of the world? Or, as some say, the best amusement park in the world. Cedar Point is the place to strengthen family bonds and stomachs.Cedar Point. Thrills Connect.”

Cleveland even offers all your professional sports and seems to have a lot of pride in them: (the Monsters are minor league hockey)

download (5) images (2) download (6) download (8)

logo

There seem to be parks on every corner and even a few beaches along Lake Erie.  We are very much looking forward to getting the bikes back out, teaching LL to ride a bike, and even purchasing a bike trailer to tow the kids too!

And ofcourse if you know me – I love a good festival – so tons of those to visit too!

Skiing is not too far away, another plus for Steven as he loves to ski and can’t wait to get the kids on skis while they are little.

Lots of new local restaurants to try.  (I know every city has this – but we love eating out – so excited to try some new local places!)  Also included with eating is drinking – so looking forward to new local craft beers, like the Great Lakes Brewing Company and Rocky River Brewing Company!

And who knew – Superman was created in Cleveland too!

I could go on as I am finding out so much, I’ll save more for later, like restaurants, parks, and festivals I want to try.  (And hopefully some reviews of these places when we actually get up there!)   Please feel free to add your favorites here too, this list is just my attempt to organize some things that are on our Cleveland Bucket list, and like I said before, to get us excited about going to a brand new city.

Thanks for reading and please COME VISIT!!

Thanks to Positively Cleveland for many of these ideas!
And here’s another good list I found: 25 Reasons Why Cleveland Is The Best

2 Comments

Filed under Celebrations, Children

2 responses to “Why they say Cleveland Rocks!

  1. When I was going into my freshman year of high school, a dear friend and I spent a week at her aunt and uncle’s home. They lived in Cleveland. We had the best week and we still talk about it when we visit each other. Lake Erie (the PA part is 40 minutes from my hometown). Cleveland 2 and a half hours from where I grew up. One day trip we took, instead of going to Cedar Point, was Put in Bay, OH. http://visitputinbay.com/pib/ At the time, it was a sleepy little community, but it was a great day. I think you will love the adventures awaiting you.

Thoughts?

