Let it Go and Defy Gravity

1-IMG_0780

I can’t stop singing “Let it Go” from Frozen.  I took my LL to Frozen, her first movie (see above!) in December, and I can’t stop singing!  With no expectations, I was completely blown out of the water with this movie.  The soundtrack is Broadway worthy, and it took me a few weeks to put this together, but I’ve learned a few things.

  1. I may be Idina Menzel‘s biggest fan.  She has been in Rent, Wicked, and now Frozen.  Her voice and songs bring me goosebumps and tears.  I seriously love her. (picture pulled from her website)
  2. “Let it Go” has so much similarity to “Defying Gravity” (from Wicked), which is one of my all time favorite songs.  I pulled it up today to show the kids, and by the end, LL asked why I was crying.  I absolutely love this song, it’s meaning, Wicked, everything.  Take a listen – it’s amazing.

The two songs have such a similar message too, I guess I’m not the first to link these songs (check out the cool images I found above), but I thought I would put a little lesson together, as they both have such a great message for everyone, but especially the target of Frozen, young girls.

Elphaba from Wicked, is a misunderstood green-skinned girl.  Her love for animals is one of the many reasons I love her so much, but she already doesn’t conform to society in looks alone, so she embracing that, and her “coming out” song is “Defying Gravity”.

“Something has changed within me, Something is not the same
I’m through with playing by the rules, Of someone else’s game”

Elsa from Frozen, has always been different and isolated from the outside world.  At an early age, she discovered powers that her parents told her to “conceal not feel.”  So “Let it Go” is her coming out song.

“I don’t care, What they’re going to say
Let the storm rage on, The cold never bothered me anyway”

These two characters, unlike their peers, are finally “free”.  If you’ve seen the musical/movie, you will know this does not come without consequence, but they finally discover who they are, publicly declare that, and move on.  This is hitting me in two ways.

  1. As much of a “real” rule-follower as I am, I don’t “go with the flow” and I have a partner that is the same way.  Steven and I talked about that this weekend, our decisions don’t always line up with the norm, that is just how we roll (and you may see evidence of this coming soon!)
  2. And isn’t that what it is like to be a Christian?  Knowing that you a child of God, and in his eyes, you’re perfect.  And with only that knowledge you can be free, like really free.

A few verses, then I’ll let you enjoy the song.  The message is the same, do not conform to the world, be yourself, be comfortable in that, and my added message, if God is for you and you love and obey Him, you can’t be stopped! (But use your power for good please!)

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.
Romans 12:2

Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, let us use them: if prophecy,let us prophesy in proportion to our faith; 7 or ministry, let us use it in our ministering; he who teaches, in teaching;
Romans 12:6-7

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature, because I have rejected him. For the Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”
1 Samuel 16:7

Take a listen, I hope you enjoy as much as I do.  This has become my anthem.  Not only the message of being myself, even if that is different from everyone else, but also just letting go of the little stuff and putting God first.

As Elsa says:
It’s time to see what I can do, To test the limits and break through, No right, no wrong, no rules for me, I’m free”

And as Elphaba says:
“It’s time to trust my instincts, Close my eyes and leap!”

Thanks for stopping by.  Please share, I had fun writing this post.  Amen.

(All images or videos link to the original source)
Lyrics from Wicked & Frozen

 

4 Comments

Filed under Calling, Celebrations, Children, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Let it Go and Defy Gravity

  1. Mom

    Excellent post!!Especially after a trying mid-morning car dilemma!! I love it!

  2. Ellie

    Hi, I know I’m just a random stranger, but I want to say that I think this blog post is great! I am only a teenager, but I am a Christian, and I love both frozen and wicked. It is great to compare the two and put it into a Christian perspective. I love how both of the girls, Elsa and Elphaba, embrace who they are and do what they think is right, just as we, treasured children of God, should do. Thanks again,
    -A Friend

Thoughts?

