Seasons of Love: Happy New Year!

Happy New Year’s Eve!  As I was thinking about ending the year, one of my all time favorite songs came to mind and as I reflected on it, decided it was the perfect way to end this year.  The song is “Seasons of Love” from Rent.  (Below is a picture from the musical – I love how they stripped it down and just sang in spotlights – gives me chills!)

Rent is also one of my favorite Broadway plays, I think I’ve seen it 3-4 times.  The subject matter may not quite be happy and God may not be mentioned amid the sex, drugs, paying bills, AIDS, death, but He is there.  And in the song “Seasons of Love” is it quite clear that love conquers all, it never fails, and in the end is what matters, sound familiar, who told us that?

“Love Never Fails”
1 Corinthians 13:8

In efforts to keep this short, I’ll just say I’m thankful for this year, all 525,600 minutes of it.  For the ups, the downs, the laughter, the strife.  The opportunity to find an online voice and explore a new interest and share a glimpse of God’s love to you.  I’m thankful for the LOVE in my life, first and foremost my Savior, then my husband, kids, family, friends, neighbors, and ofcourse puppies.  Each and every event and person has helped shape who I am and who I hope to be as I strive to live with more purpose glorifying and praising the One who provided it all.

So thank you to everyone for your love and support – Happy New Year – may 2014 be filled with purpose driven by the One who first LOVED us.  And take time to enjoy your seasons of love.  Take a listen below and meditate on this great song.  Amen and God Bless!

Seasons of Love
Jonathan Larson

Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes
Five hundred twenty-five thousand moments so dear
Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes
How do you measure, measure a year?

In daylights, in sunsets
In midnights, in cups of coffee
In inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife
In five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes
How do you measure, measure a year in the life?

How about love?
How about love?
How about love?
Measure in love

Seasons of love
Seasons of love

Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes
Five hundred twenty-five thousand journeys to plan
Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes
How do you measure the life of a woman or a man?

In truths that she learned
Or in times that he cried
In bridges he burned
Or the way that she died

It’s time now, to sing out
Though the story never ends
Let’s celebrate
Remember a year in the life of friends

Remember the love
(Oh, you got to, you got to remember the love)
Remember the love
(You know that love is a gift from up above)
Remember the love
(Share love, give love, spread love)
Measure in love
(Measure, measure your life in love)

Seasons of love
Seasons of love
(Measure your life, measure your life in love)

2 Comments

Filed under Calling, Celebrations

2 responses to “Seasons of Love: Happy New Year!

  1. Mom

    I’m so proud that I have contributed to a small part of who you are today……which is an awesome, beautiful young woman! I love you!

Thoughts?

