Joy for Christmas (Advent Series Part III)

Joy: a feeling of great pleasure and happiness.  Who wouldn’t want that?  Joy is another amazing gift and one that I’d have to say makes everything else worth it.  Don’t you live for those moments of pure joy, for me it’s through my children.  And as they get older, the JOY in Christmas is even clearer.  (Stay tuned for my post about meeting Santa!)  And here is my LL when I told her to show me joy this morning:

1-IMG_0995

Then the angel said to them,
“Do not be afraid, for behold,
I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people.
Luke 2:10

Yet I will rejoice in the Lord,
I will joy in the God of my salvation.
Habakkuk 3:18

Joy is mentioned so much in the Bible, it’s hard to narrow it down, so I picked a common Christmas verse and another great one from Habakkuk.  I try not to do “too much” research when composing my posts, I don’t want to ever be guilty of stealing anyone else’s thoughts and ideas.  I try to pour out my raw emotion as I pray over and think over each topic, song, or verse I choose to include.  But I came across this article that includes tons of scripture and thoughts on JOY.  The author hits the nail on the head when he mentions that true joy cannot be fabricated and can only come when we feel secure, have direction in our life, are honest with God and ourselves, and live each moment in God’s presence.

I know I try to thank God and praise him even more in times of JOY.  Don’t get me wrong, I praise Him through my storms too, but it’s hard when you’re in them.  But the joy that will come will be amazing.  Time and time again, God comes through.  And it’s in those moments of JOY that I feel free, I know my God came through and I feel His presence and loving arms around me and I want to shout it to the world.  My goal will be to keep that joy in my heart always.  If not the JOY, but maybe the HOPE for it, or the PEACE that may precede or follow it.  Three beautiful gifts (and spoiler alert – the best one comes next week!)

It was hard for me to pick a song this week as so many songs exemplify JOY to me.  I did go with the most obvious, Joy to the World.  I’m sure it’s becoming overplayed, but not to me.  Chris Tomlin has a way with songs, that I can just never tire of.  He took this song, in a similar way that he took Amazing Grace (My Chains Have Gone), and added the catchy “Joy – Unspeakable Joy”, that has me singing as loud as I can when I hear it!  (A close second and one for you to check out as well is “God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman” by Barenaked Ladies – LOVE this version!)

Enjoy this song.  Sing it out, LOUD, to our GOD, who wants us to experience JOY, during the Advent season and throughout the year.  It will have to be earned, much like peace, but it will be so good.  Amen!

Joy to the World (Unspeakable Joy)
Chris Tomlin

And like last week – here are a few glimpses of JOY in my world:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

See first posts in this series here:  (and stay tuned for LOVE next week!)
Part I – HOPE
Part II – PEACE

4 Comments

Filed under Calling, Celebrations, Children

4 responses to “Joy for Christmas (Advent Series Part III)

  1. Ahhh, absolutely love this! Thank you for this post. I needed to read this. Your joys are adorable! DAF

  2. Mom

    Another wonderful post! LL is the epitome of JOY in this picture!!

  3. I nominated you for the most uplifting blogger award. The details are on my post dated 12/16. Thanks for being you!

Thoughts?

