Book Review: The Widow File by S.G. Redling


The Widow File
By S.G. Redling
Click book for description
Available 1/1/14

I am trying something different for a change.  I’ve been loving NetGalley but decided to switch it up this time and try out a new feature offered to Amazon Prime Members (such as myself – proud member for 2+ years!) called Kindle First.  Each month I am offered a few pre-release titles, where I can pick one to read (and lucky for you all – review it too!)  So here goes my first one!

Finish time: 5 nights.  Again I probably could have finished this in one sitting.  It is the first book that I can honestly say I did not want to put down.  I am tempted to use profanity to emphasize just how crazy this book is, but I don’t do that – so let’s just say it is INSANE!!  Non-stop action from the first page.  I was seriously holding my breath and each night this book entered my dreams as I could not stop thinking about it.

Dani Britton is a great main character.  So well described, that I could just picture the short, spunky, dark-haired, little firecracker that she was.  I can only hoped if faced with a similar situation that I have half as much smarts and sense as she did.  Not that I ever hope or expect to be in that kind of situation.  She takes paranoia and planning to an extreme that I can’t even touch.  Seriously, at the end this is just solidified (as well as many points throughout the book.)

She keeps coming back to something her mother told her about being careful v. clever.  An interesting question that gets the reader thinking throughout the book.  At each and every challenge Dani is presented with, she is quickly able to read the situation, assess it, and act fast.  She never knows who she can trust and has to go solely on her gut instinct, which in her case is usually pretty good.

As a reader, you don’t know who you can trust too.  You don’t know what is going to be thrown at her and the book keeps you guessing to the very end.  And the ending is good, and maybe left open to a sequel?

Read the description, as I don’t want to give away any details, but the book is definitely an action-packed thriller, mystery, suspense, and I even see love story thrown in there in one description.  It’s not like any book I have read recently, but it removed me from my comfort zone and transported me into this crazy chase of a book and I enjoyed every second of it.  If you want a book that is hard to put down, challenges your thinking, and really enjoyable, read this book!

1 Comment

Filed under Chapters

One response to “Book Review: The Widow File by S.G. Redling

  1. Mom

    I’d like to read this, too!

Thoughts?

