Peace this Christmas (Advent Series Part II)

“Glory to God in the highest and on earth peace, good will toward men.”
Luke 2:14

Happy 2nd Sunday of Advent.  Today we light the candle of Peace.  As I spent time the last few days and this AM thinking about peace a few common phrases came to mind.

Peace be with you (and also with you).
A common call and response in church, I’ve repeated many times in my life.

Peace and quiet.
As in, I need some!  (And a prayer for all the moms in my life!)

World Peace.
A common pageant answer to “What would you wish for?”

Give Peace a Chance.
John Lennon anyone?

And ofcourse there are the non-verbal signs:

peace and   1-IMG_0912

But what is biblical peace?  Without looking it up, to me it is a calmness of my spirit or soul that only God can bring.  Through knowing Him, loving Him, trusting Him, talking to Him, I can truly feel peace.  God wants us to be at peace, but not without making us fully appreciate that peace.  How would we know peace without the trials of this world?

Peace is truly another gift from God and one that should be celebrated this Advent season and all year round. Rest in Peace, although associated with death and dying, should be a goal for all of us.  To truly be able to be still and rest in the gift of peace that God has graced us with (while still on this earth!)  I know it’s hard for me to shut down my brain and the world around me but I strive to just rest in knowing that God loves me and whatever it is – God’s got it, He’s got my back, and if I seek it, peace will come.

So this time of year when you hear the verse below (and above), think about the gift of peace that our Lord gives us and try and find some amid the craziness.

“Glory to God in the highest,
And on earth peace, goodwill toward men!”
Luke 2:14

As I am reflecting on what peace means to me, I think of angels.  (Not anything new that I am staking claim to!)  And this can be a topic for another post as angels can come in many forms (in our house we have doggie angels), but this time of year I like an angel to adorn the top of our tree.  Here she is (and here is a link to this talented man on Etsy that hand crafted it for us last year.)  She watches over us and our household and symbolizes the peace of the Christmas season for us.

1-IMG_0911

My first thought for a song was “Silent Night”, it’s calm and quiet melody and it’s message of “sleep in heavenly peace” is, well, peaceful.  But as I was reflecting on angels, a song came to mind that speaks of angels singing “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear”.  And in this version, that message is proclaimed by the voices of children that brings me to tears (listen towards the end – it’s so worth it!)  The innocence of their voices and the message brings me peace, and when I looked up this song I found that it is  “all about the message of peace that the angels proclaimed on the first Christmas, when Jesus Christ was born. The song looks forward to a time when people will respond to the angels by living in peace with God and each other, and, in the last verse, likens doing so to offering the angels’ song back to them.” (copied from here)

May PEACE be with you this week.  Amen.

Caedmon’s Call
It Came Upon a Midnight Clear

Read Part I on HOPE here!
and stay tuned for more!  Thanks for stopping by.

Peace to me:

3-IMG_0707

1-IMG_0335

Nothing personifies peace to me more than a sleeping baby or child (and dogs in our house too!)
Amen!

9 Comments

Filed under Calling, Children

9 responses to “Peace this Christmas (Advent Series Part II)

  1. Mom

    I love the pictures you posted at the end! Beautiful! Also, Grandma’s favorite traditional Christmas carol was It Came Upon a Midnight Clear. I always get teary-eyed when I hear it. Surprisingly, I don’t hear it that often on the various Christmas stations I listen to 😦 .
    Great post!

  2. Lovely. The wooden angel is so pretty. Thank you for sharing this.

    • Thank you! I tried to comment on your post on your tree topper but I don’t think it came through from my phone. But loved that post and how you are going to start tracking it – great idea and its never too late to start!

      • I did get the post, I thought I had responded to it. Your angel is so lovely. It has been fun to see the years listed, and since my girls are no longer girls, but grown women (35 and 30) it was fun to be able to have our oldest as the latest entry.

      • Looks like you did! I’m scattered lately and behind with my blog reading – but remembered your Angel post and knew that our angel would make it into a Christmas post this year as we love her! Merry Christmas 🙂

      • Merry Christmas to you. It is hard to keep up with home, kids, shopping, writing, reading, responding… I don’t know how young Moms do it all… I am impressed! Have a joyous Christmas season filled with the best of laughter, hugs and squeals of delight. DAF

  3. Reblogged this on My Dog-eared Purpose and commented:

    Sharing from last year on this 2nd Sunday of Advent. May peace be with you during this season!

  4. Mom

    It was a great post last year and it’s a great post this year! Thanks, sweetie. There are times when you just need to think about your mom and this post makes me think about mine :). Thank you. A prayer for peace to all.
    Love, Mom

Thoughts?

