Hope for Christmas (Advent Series Part I)

May the God of HOPE fill you with all JOY & PEACE as you trust in Him so that you Overflow with HOPE by the power of the Holy Spirit. 
Romans 15:13

I’m a bit late.  But I  wanted to try out writing a series for a change.  I see many bloggers do it – so here goes my attempt.  It’s the season of Advent, the time of waiting, preparing, and, at least for me, of often losing sight of what this season is all about.  So I wanted to bring it back to what it is all about – the arrival of the newborn King, our Lord and Savior – Jesus Christ!

Each Sunday of Advent (or Friday as I’m a bit late for the first one!) I wanted a reminder of which Sunday it is, include a verse, and as I like to do – a song!  As I did a little research on Advent, I learned that each Sunday (or each candle) may have many different meanings or colors depending on which denomination you practice.  I’ll stay with my own Presbyterianism and bring to you Hope, Peace, Joy, and Love.

The first Sunday, the candle of HOPE was lit.  See the verse from Romans above and this next one below.  God has given us the gift of HOPE.  We may not know what is ahead for us, but God does and give us HOPE in that.  HOPE is a foundation of my faith and in my guiding verse (Jeremiah 29:11.)  It give us something to look forward to, even if we don’t know what it is or even what it will be.  But God knows and it will be good and worth the wait.  Without HOPE, I don’t know how I would get through each day.

We were saved with this hope ahead of us. Now hope means we are waiting for something we do not have. How can a man hope for something he already has? But if we hope for something we do not yet see, we must learn how to wait for it.
Romans 8:24-5 (NLV)

I will start things off, and leave you for today, with probably the most popular Advent song.  “O Come, Emmanuel”  I found this beautiful instrumental Piano and Cello version online and the video to accompany even gave me goosebumps (as this is the Christmas version of the song!).  I HOPE you enjoy as well and can meditate on the true meaning of Advent, the most amazing gift we could ever be given of which nothing will ever compare, and remembering that each and every day this December (and always).  Amen.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Hope for Christmas (Advent Series Part I)

  1. Henrietta Little

    Love this video!!!!

  2. wonderful post, I am looking forward to more posts of Advent. This was wonderful.

  3. Great post on advent and well written…thank you as I read this in the AM….great way to start the day!!

  4. Mom

    This is wonderful! I love the music you found.

Thoughts?

