Book Review: The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley

The Deepest Secret
By Carla Buckley
This book was received free through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

Finish time: way too long (the time change has me going to bed way too early!)  Another book that catches you off guard.  Well me at least.  If you actually read and pay attention to the title, you should at least expect something big to happen to prompt that promised “deep secret.”  I guess I wasn’t paying attention, but the book took care of that – fast!

Eve is a middle-aged mother of two, and wife of David.  Her youngest son, Tyler, has a fatal disease known at XP – Xeroderma pimentosum and spends all hours of daylight inside his dark room (as any exposure to UV rays could kill him).  All research and history show that he will not likely live past 20 years old.  If that is not enough of a challenge for Eve, add in this “deep secret” and her life is pretty much a mess.  A few other factors include an experimental (typical) rebelling teenage daughter, a husband who keeps a second home in another city for work (and their fragile relationship), and having to explain to any new neighbors why they have to use a certain kind of light bulb for her son’s safety (and some who don’t want to comply).  The “secret” lives up to its name and has you pondering what you would do.  It seems pretty obvious, but Eve’s thought pattern is somewhat logical and you do feel for her, so the story ropes you in right away.

At times the book became a bit boring but even during those times I just had a sick feeling in my gut that something might happen or change at any point, and what if Eve is figured out?  I enjoyed getting inside Tyler’s head.  At 14 he not only had a good handle and understanding of his disease, he had a good outlook on life (which I’m not sure I would have given a fatal diagnosis.)  But what do they keep saying these days – YOLO?  (I had to look that one up!)

Not my favorite book of late, but one that I anxiously picked up each night.  It ended how it should (at least how I thought it should) and without any spoilers, I was satisfied.  It did stretch my thinking to places I pray I never have to go.  As a mom – how far would you go to protect your family?  Great question and really lays out how Eve had to live that out and some odd places where compassion was found.

2 Comments

Filed under Chapters

2 responses to “Book Review: The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley

  1. The cover looks inviting. A pity it’s not that good.

Thoughts?

