Book Review: Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse


Before We Met
By Lucie Whitehouse
Available 1/21/14
Provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Finish time: 4 nights.  I’m going along frantically turning pages and if there isn’t enough suspense already – BAM!  Wow, didn’t see that one coming, this book takes a sharp turn and when you think its about to end – THWACK!  (Seriously – emphasis added – it’s crazy!)  None of this is bad, but definitely not like anything I’ve read recently.

I’m not quite sure how to review this book without being extremely vague, I don’t want to spoil anything about this book and you really just have to read it.  The beauty of the book is the little nuggets of truth and information that are tactfully placed throughout the whole book.  At the beginning, I was wondering if there would be much dialogue, and there is, just wait for it.  But I’d say for the first half of the book you are inside Hannah’s head and experiencing the shock, craziness, unknowing, speculating, horror, sadness, and so many other emotions, right along with her.

Hannah is a newlywed middle age woman to Mark Reilly.   The book begins as Hannah excitedly makes her way to Heathrow Airport in London to surprise her husband, who should be returning from a business trip.  When he doesn’t show up and she can’t get a hold of him, her thought process begins to spin.  We’ve all been there; am I crazy?  do I trust him?  it’s probably just X or Y or Z?  there has to be an explanation!  As she thinks through possible scenarios, she begins to act and question this man she chose to be her husband and people in his life.  How much does she really know?

As mentioned, it’s intense and if I didn’t value sleep as much as I do with 2 little ones, I’d have stayed up all night the first night to finish this.  I like to be at a good point in a book to put it down for the night, but those were hard to find in this book.  But that kept me on my toes and really ready for what was pieced together next.  And I don’t think I could have seen this one coming if I tried, again and again until the very end.

I loved it.  Not happy by any means, but I love when I can’t stop thinking about it in between reads and can’t wait to pick it up the next night (or maybe even sneak in a few chapters during nap time!)

7 Comments

Filed under Chapters

7 responses to “Book Review: Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse

  1. Wow this sounds like a fantastic read – another one for my TBR I think….

  2. Pingback: Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse - Short Review | Never Too Fond of BooksNever Too Fond of Books

  3. Reblogged this on My Dog-eared Purpose and commented:

    This great book is out TODAY! Check out my review below and click the book to see more on Amazon!

  4. Great review. It is one of those books you have to be vague about. I found it hard to put down as well and only did because of work and sleep!

  5. PS. I just followed your blog as well 🙂

Thoughts?

