Book Review: The Pieces We Keep by Kristina McMorris


The Pieces We Keep
By Kristina McMorris
Provided free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
Available for Purchase 11/26/13

Finish Time:  too long for me.  I’ve been exhausted, so I don’t want my time to finish to be any sort of indicator to how this book is.  It was a very enjoyable read, but the last 2 weeks, my droopy eyelids beat out wanting to read on, thus the longer time between reviews.  I’m almost tempted to go back and read it (and I may) as there are so many little details that are tied up as the book go on that I feel like I may have missed some!

This book jumps back and forth between the 1940’s and present day – 2012.  Throughout the book the stories mesh together, which was fun, because at the back of my mind was how are they going to tie these two stories together?  But the author did and it was perfect.  Not exactly a happy topic, but delivered very well.  The 1940’s part was part love-story, part suspense/thriller, and a great glimpse into history (WWII/Nazi Germany time period.)  Great characters.  I could clearly picture Vivian, Luanne, Gene, and Isaak in my head and really felt invested in their stories.  I also always enjoy when authors explain (at the end) what details were actual events or based on real people versus detail they made up (or created from facts!)

Fast forward to present day and the main characters were Audra and Jack, a recent widow and her son.  Jack is dealing with a variety of issues (mainly night terrors) and my heartstrings were tugged (and almost broken) as Audra, as a mother, struggles to figure it out and keep her son safe.  Through a historical mystery spurred from Jack’s dreams, a war vet, grieving in-laws, a pending job change and move, and some good friends, Audra makes her way through and it does not fall short of non-stop action and eager page-turning.  You can feel her raw emotion come through the pages and really is one of the most real characters I’ve encountered in a book.

The ending uncovers many mysteries presented throughout the book and wraps everything up nicely.  Even may have left it open for a sequel?  I left this book feeling content and satisfied.  Definitely will look for more from the author!

Historical fiction is my favorite genre to read by far, and this book does not disappoint.  A great glimpse into history and even present day challenges of being a mother.  I really enjoyed it – check it out if you get a chance this November!!

3 Comments

Filed under Chapters, Children

3 responses to “Book Review: The Pieces We Keep by Kristina McMorris

  1. Thank you for this lovely review! I’m so happy you enjoyed the book!

Thoughts?

