Kids Book Review: The Pajamas of My Dreams


The Pajamas of My Dreams
by Laurie Collins (Author) , Margie Florini (Illustrator)
The book was provided to me free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

A neat premise and I love the inspiration behind the book, although it tugs at my heartstrings quite a bit.  The non-profit Cradles to Crayons did a pajama drive that inspired this book.  It looks like a great organization whose mission is below:

Our vision is that one day every child will have the essentials they need

…to feel safe, warm, ready to learn and valued. Through the Giving Factory, we provide those essentials, as donated clothes, shoes, books and school supplies to homeless and low-income children. We also offer meaningful volunteer opportunities to hundreds of corporations and thousands of individuals and families each year.

I hugged my little lady (LL) a little closer in reading the introduction to the book where the author states that not all kids have a nice warm pair of pj’s to go to sleep in each night.  I am thankful that my children don’t and hopefully never face that challenge, but pray for those who do, and will add that to our prayers each night.

They way this book ended could easily be turned into a prayer, and that is actually what it felt like, so we did give a big AMEN at the end.  Overall a cute book but in learning that back story, just left me kind of sad.  But that is me – the parent.  My daughter seemed to enjoy, although I think this is more geared towards older kids as the font is small (I was reading on a computer though) and there are a lot of “bigger” words.  Good for discussion and explaining to her, but still I felt I probably won’t revisit this for another year or so.  (She is almost 4)

In the pajamas of my dreams, I climb into bed, pull the covers up tightly, close my eyes and…

Each page has a cute picture of someone dreaming of things based on what pictures are on their pajamas.  I like the potential it implies; that kids’ possibilities are endless and to keep dreaming.  Reactions from my LL were mixed – I wouldn’t want to work with bugs all day!  But helping people or animals would be fun! Or I know someone who does that! I think we’ll look at our PJ’s each night a little differently now and maybe project some dreams based on them.  LL likes to do that – tell me what she is going to dream about and then when I ask each AM – sure enough – that was it!

Overall – fun book, great cause, great for opening up communication and imagination with your kids, and a positive message that you can be whatever you want to be!

Follow-up question for LL:  What do you want to be when you grow up?  A soccer player.  (Never played but all her friends are starting – so we’ll leave it at that for now!)

6 Comments

Filed under Chapters, Children

6 responses to “Kids Book Review: The Pajamas of My Dreams

  1. wow, what a packed post! I am going to look into this organization. I love new jammies, especially for kids… I never leave my daughter’s home without making certain my little man has new jammies that will last until my next visit. Thanks for this post.

  2. Mom

    What a neat book. Great review.

  3. I am the author of Pajamas of My Dreams and am touched by your review. You would be interested to know that the book inspired a church service, where the youth group read the book to the congregation (it was projected at the front of the sanctuary) and the entire congregation wore pajamas to church! They also held a pajama drive! Your vision of the book as a prayer is shared! Reader’s insight is always appreciated. Laurie Collins

    • Hi Laurie! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog! And thanks for sharing that story – love it! And love when books can inspire and push people into action! Thank you for allowing me to review through NetGalley!

Thoughts?

