Whom Shall I Fear? (Happy Hump Day)

Happy Wednesday aka Hump Day!  Anyone else notice the increase in camel pictures on Wednesdays?  Maybe it’s just my FB friends, but I swear the last few weeks I see at least 2-3 camel pictures on Wednesday – new trend?

That all being said, I’ve strayed away from my typical Sunday posts the last few weeks.  And thought I would try to post when I felt most inspired, or when I need it the most, and today that just happens to be on a Wednesday!  I will try to post weekly though as it helps me and hopefully some of you!

I have been encouraged by many songs this last week, particularly some of THESE AWESOME ONES, but I’ll save a post on one of those for another week.  This past week at church we sang this one – Whom Shall I Fear – and I also hear it daily (maybe hourly) on the radio.  It seems those are the songs I’m drawn most to posting about, but when I think that through, it makes sense because it gives the song time to sink in and after a few (hundred) times hearing it, it’s made an impact.

This week at a couples bible study we were discussing two types of Facebook posters.  One was deemed the overly, happy almost fake sounding, that only posts about good things.  The other is the opposite, using it as a platform to complain to ask for sympathy.  No one wants to raise their hand for either, but if I had to label myself it would be the positive one.  I hope not fake, but my Facebook friends (be them real or virtual) don’t need to see that side on my life, so I’m guilty of only posting happy things.  Not that I want to be a negative poster, but I save my issues for my friends and family off-line.  Neither of these is right or wrong or healthy or not (I’ll leave that for you to decide).  I do believe by airing grievances, you may find sympathy and/or support, and definitely get some extra prayers.   But is there a point where it is TMI or you’re just boasting (if it’s on the positive side)? Which one are you?  (And I’m sure there is an argument in here that’s anti-social media, a highly debated topic in many of my groups – but we’ll save that for another day!)

That being said (yes I know I already started a paragraph with those words – it’s my transition today!), things aren’t always happy and shiny in my life.  These last few posts (Here and Here) focused on great things that we did.  I need to do that sometimes (often) to refocus and spend time praising God for the good things in my life, which there are WAY more than not.  But other days, and more this past week, I’ve been consumed with panic and fear.  Of unknowns and of trusting God.  And this song – Whom Shall I Fear – always brings it back into focus for me.  Who should I fear when I have God – the God of Angel Armies albeit, by MY side?  I love the imagery of that.

Here is what Chris Tomlin says about the song:

The Scripture really came to life for me after we wrote the song. I may have read that Bible passage from 2nd Kings before, but my eyes weren’t really open to the story. When Elisha is told about the army camped outside the city, and sees the fear in his servant’s eyes, he tells him, “Do not fear, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.” Then he prays for the Lord to open the eyes of his servant. Then he saw the angel armies all around their enemies.

Remember that if God is for us, who can be against us? We raise our hands to celebrate and in surrender. We can lift up our hands in confidence to God and know that His mercy is unfailing. His love is never-ending. He is our refuge and our strength. God’s ultimate will is not to bring affliction upon people, but to restore us so that we may experience His unfailing love.

May you always remember that you believe in God – the God of the Angel Armies, and that He’s got your back.  Always.  Amen and Happy Hump Day!

Whom Shall I Fear
Chris Tomlin
You hear me when I call
You are my morning song
Though darkness fills the night
It cannot hide the light
 
Whom shall I fear
 
You crush the enemy
Underneath my feet
You are my Sword and Shield
Though trouble lingers still
 
Whom shall I fear
 
I know Who goes before me
I know Who stands behind
The God of angel armies
Is always on my side
The One who reigns forever
He is a Friend of mine
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side
 
My strength is in Your name
For You alone can save
You will deliver me
Yours is the victory
 
Whom shall I fear
Whom shall I fear
 
And nothing formed against me shall stand
You hold the whole world in Your hands
I’m holding onto Your promises
You are faithful
You are faithful
You are faithful
 
I know Who goes before me
I know Who stands behind
The God of angel armies
Is always on my side
The One who reigns forever
He is a Friend of mine
The God of angel armies
Is always by my side
 
The God of angel armies is always by my side

Leave a comment

Filed under Calling, Celebrations

Thoughts?

