Book Review: Oh to Grace by Abby Rosser


Oh to Grace
By Abby Rosser
This book was provided to me free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Finish time: 5 nights.  This was one of those books that I wish I had read in hard copy.  You know the ones I’m talking about, where each chapter begins with a date and they aren’t necessarily in chronological order.  So on the Kindle, it’s hard to backtrack.  For that reason, and not really paying attention to the dates until later in the book, I found the book hard to follow at first.  It jumps around a bit between time periods and characters, that I’m not sure I ever really felt I had it all figured out.

The book begins and goes back each chapter to a granddaughter interviewing her great-aunt (I believe) Frankie about her family’s history.  Her family’s story included lots of interesting characters, lots of little adventures, and painted a great picture of life during the early 1900’s.  But I felt it was lacking a larger story to tie it all together.  I guess looking back the book starts out with a boy running into a store and proclaiming to the owner that his son is dead, but it takes a long time to come back to that point, that I had completely forgotten about it by the time it circled back around.  And throughout the story there is mention of a pocket-watch, but it seemed inconsequential and I couldn’t keep track of whose it was and who had it now, so I did appreciate its timeline at the end of the story.

The writing was good, I enjoyed the story of Anna and Ernest and his family, and I especially loved the ending.  Again, looking back, there is mention of hymns and church, but just not much.  But at the end (without spoiling anything) the discussions about faith and God were so good, I wished there was more through the book, or even more build up to that point in everyone’s lives (especially Anna).

So really an enjoyable read, and everything was eventually tied together, it was just a little frustrating as I don’t think I ever had all the characters straight, and was confused a lot of the book.  But the ending really redeemed it all for me and left feeling satisfied and happy.

I don’t normally tie in songs or verses to my book reviews, but the verse below from Romans and past post HERE were in my head since finishing this book and I couldn’t help but share as it’s one of my favorites!

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future,nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Romans 8:38-39

3 Comments

Filed under Chapters

3 responses to “Book Review: Oh to Grace by Abby Rosser

  1. Thanks for sharing your reservations, it sounds like a good review and I know what you mean some writing really needs the physical book rather than an e-reader.

Thoughts?

