Book Review: Scaredy Squirrel prepares for Halloween by Melanie Watt

Scaredy Squirrel prepares for Halloween
by Melanie Watt
This book was provided to me free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Finish Time: 25 minutes.  We’re trying something new today.  As LL is weaning from her naps, she is more and more interested in just what exactly I am doing on my computer (and none of her toys!).  As I was browsing titles on NetGalley today (a new free book service I’ve recently discovered), I found a whole Children’s Books section, and figured that my 3 (almost 4) year old can help me review a book or two.  So let’s see how this goes!

A little longer than I initially expected – 8 chapters!!  While intimidating at first, and not having an actual book to hold and know how long we were expecting, at just a few pages to each chapter, and mainly pictures, not that bad.  Definitely intended for a little older age range (although Amazon does suggest 4-8 years old), or maybe a few more Halloweens under our belts could have been beneficial!  I like the character of Scaredy Squirrel, he’s a planner like me, so this is right up my alley!.   And I’d be open to reading more of his adventures as it looks like he has many.  The pictures were the best part.  Even if the words were too high level for LL, the pictures opened up dialogue and made the book interactive for us, especially liked all the costumes.  The quiz at the beginning is good too for interaction.  Our favorite pictures were princess squirrel and all the doggies dressed up towards the end!

LL’s thoughts included that the cover had a silly squirrel with triangle teeth (vampire squirrel!)  And liked that whenever we read the word “squirrel” that all 3 of our dogs ran outside hunting for said squirrel.  She did not like that she thought some of it was scary (although it really wasn’t and definitely intended not to be!) and there were too many words!

Cute Halloween book overall and good one to get into the season!  Definitely a good one for maybe 5-8 year olds who are familiar with the holiday and traditions!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chapters, Children

Thoughts?

