Tasty! (God and Candy Crush)

1-IMG_3744

Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.
Psalm 34:8

You’ll never believe where I heard God speak to me this week and my inspiration for this post.  Seriously, this is embarrassing, but I know some of you will know what I am talking about.  Any Candy Crush addicts out there?  Don’t judge me, it’s my down-time (what little of it there is) indulgence.  We all have one (or two).  Usually I have the volume down, but sometimes on my computer it is up and you’ll hear the creepy voice throughout the game proclaim “Tasty!”.  And the verse above and song below came to mind.  Now whenever I indulge in Candy Crush, I have this song in my head, and even playing a mindless game, I feel close to God.  I know – far-fetched but it’s a stress-reliever for me (along with exercise and other things), and just a momentary break from the present.  (I could tie this in with the topic of temptation that was discussed in my small group this AM, but we’ll save that for another day!)

But this song below “Taste & See”, first heard at church from Jay & Abby Akins (who are releasing their first album, Trust, very soon!!), has always been one of my favorites.  Catchy, good beat, and really gets you moving and feeling the music.  And not to mention a GREAT message – God is good and I’m going to proclaim it anyway I can!  I’d argue that not only can we taste and see, but we hear, feel, and even smell God in all the little indulgences He allows us, and HE IS GOOD!  I am thankful for that piece of dark chocolate or pumpkin latte I can TASTE.  I am grateful for the beautiful changing leaves I SEE.  I can rest in the silence during naptime or after the kids go to bed at night that I HEAR.  I FEEL hugs and kisses from my husband, my kids, and my dogs each day.  I am refreshed with the SMELL of dinner in the oven or the cool crisp air of AM.  And there is nothing better than knowing in my heart that God loves me and has provided so many blessings and amazing things for us to experience on this earth.  Pretty cool.

I pray that we all take time this week to be blessed by all God places for us to taste and see each day (even if it is in a silly game!).  Amen.

Taste & See
Hillsong United

O taste and see
That the Lord is good
O taste and see
That the Lord is good
He is good to me

You’ve turned my mourning
Into dancing
Put off my rags and clothed me with gladness
And I will arise and I will praise you
I’ll sing and not be silent

O Lord, My God
I will give thanks to you forever
O Lord, My God
I will give thanks to you

And I’ll live only for you
And I’ll lift these hands up to you
And I’ll dance before you
I will shout it, I will shout it to you

4 Comments

Filed under Calling, Canines, Celebrations, Children

4 responses to “Tasty! (God and Candy Crush)

  1. Mom

    Wonderful! I love you, Kaitlin! You’re an awesome daughter!

  2. I love this song. And it has such a good message. Thanks for sharing!

Thoughts?

