God gave me you. A post for my husband.

DSC_0879Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God,
and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God.
John 4:7

Happy Sunday!  Again, I’m straying from my typical church, summarize the sermon post, and posting what is on my heart and mind.  This one today is for my hubby, Steven (but hopefully you can relate and maybe be inspired by some of it!)  He’s been working extra hard lately and we’ve been spending a lot more time apart.  While at times this puts a lot of strain on our relationship, I know that God brought us together for a reason, many reasons, and this is one of our trial periods.  Through the 9 years we have known each other, we’ve had ups and downs and I feel the desire to reflect on that this particular Sunday and maybe reaffirm my belief that “this too shall pass” and we will be stronger for it (with God’s help ofcourse!)

The song I’ve had on my brain lately, and today’s Sunday song, is God Gave Me You by Blake Shelton (see the video and full lyrics below).  I heard a song of a similar title the other day on the Fish Atlanta, but when I tried to think back on it, this was one that came to mind and has stuck.  I don’t know much about their relationship, but I know Blake is married to Miranda Lambert (she’s in the intro to this video too).  From seeing them on the Voice, being fans of both on Facebook, and from songs, it seems like they have a solid relationship (hopefully rooted in Christ!)  (It also doesn’t hurt that Miranda is a huge animal advocate – so I really like and respect her!)  The verse “On my own I’m only half of what I could be” stings true, without God and you by my side, things would be a lot tougher and together our possibilities are endless.

IMG_2739

While doing my “research” for this post, it was easy to get caught up in Bible verses about marriage and love.  While those are important, I wanted today to reflect on those gifts, those people, whatever it is, that God has placed in our lives.  I know that God alone is sufficient, and all that I need.  But being the amazing God He is, I strongly believe He places people in our lives for different reasons.  He places them there to strengthen us, to grow with us, to teach us lessons, to guide us, to follow us, a million different reasons.  Some may only stay a short while, while others hopefully will stick around for awhile.

Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 says “Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their labor: If either of them falls down, one can help the other up.  But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up.  Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm. But how can one keep warm alone? Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.”

With you (Steven), my heart is overflowing.  Together we have already overcome so much, and grown with each other and through God.  And this is only the beginning!  Our potential is endless.  We have been given 2 beautiful children to raise up and have been filled with passions that drive us to be the BEST we can be, alone and together.  On the days I have doubts, I need to pray and reaffirm, that we are serving a higher purpose.  But that “higher purpose” still wants us to learn from our mistakes, be stronger for them, and go out into the world and be the best we can be and testify to others.  While through this blog (and in real life!), I am striving to find my “purpose”, I have no doubt that you are part of my purpose and without your support and love, it would not be possible.

IMG_3727

Today, I hope you can too reflect on those people God has placed in your life and the role they have.  I pray that you have found your partner, your equal, and that they can lift you up, love you, and help you realize your full potential in whatever you are facing.  I love you Steven with my whole heart, thank you from the bottom of my heart, and know in my heart we are meant to be and meant to do amazing things!

I’ll conclude with a verse on love that was read at our wedding and one I refer back to often.  Thanks for reading and have a great Sunday!

426.21Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.  Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace.And be thankful. Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Colossians 3:12-17

“God Gave Me You”
Blake Shelton

I’ve been a walking heartache
I’ve made a mess of me
The person that I’ve been lately
Ain’t who I wanna be
But you stay here right beside me
Watch as the storm blows through
And I need you
Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you
There’s more here than what were seeing
A divine conspiracy
That you, an angel lovely
Could somehow fall for me
You’ll always be love’s great martyr
And I’ll be the flattered fool
And I need you
Yeah!
God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you
On my own I’m only
Half of what I could be
I can’t do without you
We are stitched together
And what love has tethered
I pray we never undo
Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you, gave me you
He gave me you

1 Comment

Filed under Calling, Celebrations, Children

One response to “God gave me you. A post for my husband.

  1. Mom

    Wonderful, Kaitlin!

Thoughts?

