Just be Yourself! Living a Life of Freedom.

“Now you are the body of Christ and each one of your is a part of it.”
1 Corinthians 12:27

Happy Sunday!  Beautiful day out here in GA!  We are getting ready for LL’s first day of 3-year old preschool tomorrow and really getting ready to be back on a schedule!  (Yes that does make a Type A person very excited!)  And I’m learning that kids are creatures of habit.  While flexibility is good, knowing what each day holds is also a nice thing.  We attended the early service at New Church of Peachtree City this AM as Pastor David continued his mini-sermon series titled “Living a Life of Freedom”.  Last week I missed most of the sermon on building a foundation for freedom (you can see why here).  Steven kindly took some notes for me.  The building blocks for freedom’s foundation that David presented are:

  1. Our Status (where we center our life)
  2. Our Security (physical v. through Jesus)
  3. Christ’s Strength (not our own)

So this week, David continued by discussing personal aspects, specifically who we are?  He mentioned that we tend to reflect the model of persons we admire, but that may not be what God created us to be.  Again, this hits home as I am trying to figure out who God created me to be.  I do feel that in my maturing age I am becoming so much more comfortable in my own skin, but like everyone, have a long way to go.  But so much of that is not only being comfortable in the body God gave me, but in the skills (or lack thereof), passions, roles, and places He also gave me or put me in.  God created us as we are to be who we are.  David gave 1 Corinthians 1:5 as a verse.  And in my new-found quest for deeper biblical understanding, I looked a few translations and found this one I love from “The Message”:

Every time I think of you—and I think of you often!—I thank God for your lives of free and open access to God, given by Jesus. There’s no end to what has happened in you—it’s beyond speech, beyond knowledge. The evidence of Christ has been clearly verified in your lives.
1 Corinthians 1:4-6 (The Message)

In Presbyterian fashion, David gave us 3 bullet points on how to live a life a freedom:

  1. Know Yourself
    Just as a body, though one, has many parts, but all its many parts form one body, so it is with Christ.
    1 Corinthians 12:12
  2. Be Yourself
    But in fact God has placed the parts in the body, every one of them, just as he wanted them to be.
    1 Corinthians 12:18
  3. Enjoy Yourself
    But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.
    2 Corinthians 4:7

The full verse (as linked to above) relates God’s people/believers to a body.  Each person has a function, eyes, ears, hands, feet, heart…none is any less important that any other and they all need to work together to function.  A pretty cool image, can’t you just visualize it?  It got me thinking as to what part I am and how I can do the best I can do.  And then how I want everyone else to do they best they can, so we all can be a huge functioning body to worship, praise, spread the good word, and live the lives God intended us to.  Just think how amazing we all could be together! What part of God’s body are you?

The song that came to mind for this week is “If we are the body” by Casting Crowns.  Take a listen and look below.  Thanks for reading.  May your week ahead be blessed!  Amen!

If We are the Body
Casting Crowns

Leave a comment

Filed under Calling, Children

Thoughts?

