Book Review: Secret Sister by Emelle Gamble

Secret Sister (click book for description)
by Emelle Gamble
Downloaded free on 8/17/13

Finish time: 4 nights.  I keep doing this.  I read a great book (see here) then I don’t think anything will compare so I fall back to a “chick-lit” safety book.  A predictable, easy-to-read one.  I’ve read a bunch.  They each are decent in their own way, I just never walk away saying – that was a great book!  

I will say this book kept me interested.  The story line begins with a tragic accident.  The main character, Roxanne, searches for answers as to who she was, who she is, and who she wants to be.  It is interesting to watch her figure that out through family, friends, ex-boyfriends, and acquaintances.  There are a few twists thrown in.  The “biggest” one of those twists is what lost me.  I have never been a fan of anything that can’t happen for real.  I do believe in miracles and enjoy the occasional Harry Potter book, but when books unsuspectingly through in one of these twists, I’m afraid I lose interest.  Who knows – you may like it – I did not.

The book is packed full of action and vibrant characters and was well written.  It has a good, almost predictable ending, kind of an “a-ha”, should have seen that one coming.  Nice, happy, what a reader wants.   I’ll leave it at that.  Let’s see what I can find next!

Leave a comment

Filed under Chapters

Thoughts?

