Jesus loves me this I know. Having the faith of a child.

View More: http://erinspruellphotography.pass.us/molly-and-cooper

Hope everyone’s week is off to a great start!  This is our last week of summer before preschool starts (but I know most of you down south are already back and at it!)  With the advent of a new school year comes lots of change.  As adults, we are used to it, and deal with it (in our own ways.)  But this year I’m struggling with my 3-year old LL who is extremely perceptive (she’s inherited my sense of detail) and emotional.  With summer break coinciding with changing churches, every Sunday the question has been – which church are we going to (old, #1 new, or #2 new)?

With these changes come tantrums.  Including one yesterday at church when trying to leave LL at her new “big girl” Sunday school class.  I don’t know if it’s information overload, stress, change, or probably a combination of a lot of thing, but she just had enough.  Having only a handful of tantrums under my belt, and being around other children and parents, I was at a lost on how to calm her down.  I finally settled into the classroom with her and once she was nice and settled and distracted, I quickly excused myself.  That all being said, I missed most of the sermon yesterday.

My wonderful husband, knowing and supporting my weekly Sunday blogs, took notes for me.  But it just wasn’t the same, as I’m usually taking notes and thinking of songs all while taking the sermon.  But I did notice my common theme for yesterday and this week (not a far cry from usual) is kids.   It was Kids Sunday at church, kicking off a new year of Sunday school.  We also were able to attend a party for a neighbor’s little girl who was baptized yesterday.  And then this AM we went up to LL’s preschool to meet her new teacher and see all the preparations for this coming school year.

I took this as a time to reflect on what the Bible says about kids.  Specifically about how we ALL should have the faith of a child.  How God’s love is not complicated, its so innocent, and pure at its core that its unfortunate that growing up and exposure to the world can tarnish it’s beauty.  All 4 of the gospels have a variation of this verse:

People were bringing little children to Jesus for him to place his hands on them, but the disciples rebuked them. When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them.
Mark 10:13-16

I’m sure this is a topic I will hit on again (and again!) as my life as a Mom with young kids has been (and will be) full of moments of purity when my kids learn about and experience God’s pure love.  Each night we talk with LL and ask her who made her and she says “Mommy, Daddy, and God!”  And she loves to tell her brother and even the dogs that God made them.  We love watching Veggie Tales as their guiding statement is “God made you special, and He loves you very much!”

Nothing earth-shattering today, just a good reminder that God’s love is simple and pure and that maybe we can take a hint from our kids sometimes!  Now if anyone has any advice on tantrums and approaching them with God’s love at the forefront – I’d love to hear it!

I’m breaking out an old kids classic (we all learned it!) and an old video to go with it (as my weak attempt at a song for this week!)  This is LL after she just turned 2 years old.  (Makes me a little teary eyed at how much she has already changed in just 1.5 years.)

May your week be blessed and full of God’s love!  Amen.

1 Comment

Filed under Calling, Celebrations, Children

One response to “Jesus loves me this I know. Having the faith of a child.

  1. Mom

    Hardly a weak attempt for your weekly song! I loved it!!

Thoughts?

