I will follow – will you?

“Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said:

“Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me.”
Mark 8:34

Happy Sunday!  Today I wanted to share a song that I have heard a few times this week that I really feel God has placed on my heart as I am trying to listen.  It is Chris Tomlin’s “I Will Follow”, and as always I have included the YouTube video below.

I’ve been feeling restless lately.  As the kids are getting older and a bit more independent, I’m trying to figure out what to do with my [free] time.  Part of that was starting this blog.  I am hoping that by organizing how I spend my time and documenting trips, activities, and whatever occupies our time, maybe my true calling (purpose) will appear.  At least that is my prayer.  God speaks to me through music, as each Sunday I have been posting a song that either goes along with that days sermon or one that God has laid on my heart.

This week it was “I Will Follow”.  I always hope and try to follow the desires God places on my heart, but as I am entering a period of unknowns and possibly some tough choices (nothing serious, I will elaborate at a later time), I need to, now more than ever, place my trust in God and follow.  Where HE goes, I go, where HE stays, I stay, where HE moves, I move…you get the point.  I know things are not always clear – but I’m praying for a clear answer right now! (Wouldn’t that be nice!?)  I know in time, it will come, so I pray for patience in the meantime (something I pray for daily)  I will TRUST in HIM, SEEK HIM, and my joy will follow.

Recently, I’ve enjoyed reading stories behind songs, and found this article here with Chris on the meaning behind this song.  It comes from the story of Peter.  Peter was a follower of Jesus, but also a man of the world, and while he wanted to follow wholeheartedly, he was hoping for a different version of the story.  Sound familiar?  (It does to me!)  Following Jesus means setting aside your own wants and obeying.

“Isn’t that still what it means for anyone to follow Jesus? It means that we lay down our own agendas and hopes and dreams, and faithfully obey day by day. It’s a daily dying to self—the crucifying of our own petty and self-centered desires so that we might more clearly reflect Christ to the people around us. In the end, it’s not about bravado and bold statements. It’s about simple, ongoing obedience to the words of our Lord. To say “I will follow” is really not so different from saying “Help me every hour to die to my own desires, Jesus, so that you can live more fully through me.”” [Excerpt from article linked above with Chris Tomlin]

I pray this week (and always) that I can set aside MY expectations and MY agenda and fully open up my heart and mind to the word of God and follow HIM with my whole heart, while trusting HIM, and praising HIM always.  In HIM I will be free and find my joy, if I will just follow.

Amen – have a great week!  (Looking forward to a fun and God filled week here as we host VBS at our church!)

I Will Follow
Chris Tomlin

1 Comment

Filed under Calling

One response to “I will follow – will you?

Thoughts?

