Book Review: Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes by Shauna Niequist (plus WIN THIS BOOK!)

Bread & Wine: A Love Letter to Life Around the Table With Recipes (click book for description)
by Shauna Niequist
BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book

Despite my long break of book reviews, I have been reading, and actually finished this book in just a few nights.  I loved it.  I will admit – it took me awhile to open up.  But as soon as I did, I didn’t want to put it down.  It is a glimpse into the life of the author, so vividly described that I felt as if I were a guest at her table and could taste and smell the recipes she prepared.  I will be copying most of these recipes too before someone pries (I mean wins) this book from me!  Or I may just need to pick up my own copy!

So many things I loved about this book.  One is that the author is not a trained chef, she simply enjoys cooking and enjoys having a full table.  Many of the recipes are also modified for her husband, who is gluten-free, so many of the recipes are also clean (yay!)  She is a Christian and I actually expected the book to have more references to the Bible, but I think she found the right mix.  She mentions that she finds God through food and asks the reader where they find God?  Even if not through food, this book will motivate you to find God in what you love doing! I love the introduction where she mentions to role of food in our lives and the role of food in the Bible (bread and wine anyone?)  And also poses the question – what you would serve/eat at your last supper?

Each chapter is a different story/time in her life.  Some fun, some tough, some will make your heart hurt, while others will make your heart smile.  She has fun telling stories and sharing where each recipe came from and even gives the reader ideas of an easy dinner party, a meal for a new baby, or for a grieving friend.  I love when she points out that we all go to food to show care.

winnie the pooh quotes what is for breakfast

This book challenged me to look at food and the act of eating together in a new light.  “The table is where time stops.  It’s where we look people in the eye, were we tell the truth about how hard it is, where we make space to listen to the whole story, not the textable sound bite.”

I really liked this book.  Just flipping through looking at the recipes, they look good, but didn’t really stand out and make me want to cook them until I read the text to go with them.  Now I will be copying most of them and trying them out soon!  Maybe for some of you – as I’m also more motivated to open up our table to friends and family often (and it doesn’t hurt that I enjoy cooking too!)

You can win this beautiful hardcover book!
Simply enter your name, email, and “Giveaway” in the comments!
Contest closes at noon (EST) on 8/1/13 and winner will be announced on the blog and notified via email.
Thanks and good luck!

Thanks for all the entries!  Congrats to Casey H. for winning!

Leave a comment

Filed under Celebrations, Chapters, Clean Eating

Thoughts?

