Garden Gone Wild!

Each Spring, like many, I plant a garden.  It started when we lived in town in a little 1’x4′ shared garden plot in our townhouse community, blossomed to a 4’x4′ box in 2010-11 (see picture), then last year a whole corner of our yard.  The area is a perfect triangle, measuring about 7’x10’x12′.  This year with the addition of a lovely 2′ fence to keep the critters (our dogs) out.

IMG_2016
Our first garden – 2010

Many of you saw a Facebook post I had posted right after I planted the garden:

“Alright – any gardeners out there? My bad bad dogs dug up my freshly planted garden. (Even jumped a fence to do it). Do I just rake it out and see what happens? Or try and start again? Advice please!”

In fact it was 2 of them that repeatedly showed up in the house with brown noses and red paws.  Still can’t figure out what prompted them to do it.  I was so proud of myself – this year I opted for all seeds.  I made little labels and everything was perfect.  Then the dogs got to it.  I knew the seeds were still there…so after consulting Facebook friends, and the local Home Depot expert, I decided to hedge my bets with 2 starter tomato plants and wait it out on the seeds.

That was a good call.  Look at this mess we have now!  Some of this is from seeds, but like last year, we just have tomato plants popping up everywhere.  At last count there were 15 of them!  No idea what kinds, we may have even created our own hybrid plant by now.

  IMG_3242Current Garden – as of June 26,2013

Other plantings include: Basil, Summer Squash, Cilantro, Green Onions, all types of tomatoes, and maybe some watermelon – I think the squash has squashed those though (pun intended!)

 IMG_3243

IMG_3244 IMG_3245 IMG_3246

IMG_3235
LL with our first picks of 2013!

IMG_0607
A favorite from 2012 – LL picking tomatoes!

I am far from a master gardener, barely touching upon amateur even, but I’ve gotten good results so far!  As for tips, I don’t have anything earth-shattering, but we mixed in garden soil (just from Sam’s) with the Georgia red clay dirt (is there an official name?) already in the ground, kept it watered, never used anything else., and it gets about half a days worth of sun.  Pretty simple!

Now what to do with our crop?  I have a feeling we’ll have tomatoes coming out of our ears soon, so I may just have to learn to can and/or make our own tomato sauce (I think that was on my clean eating goals!)  The garden fits in great with eating fresh and clean.  See below for Tomato Caprese; this time of year, we always keep fresh mozzarella in the fridge and have this often – even makes a great sandwich!  What are your favorite fresh herb and veggie recipes?

IMG_3236

The Lord will guide you always;
    he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
    and will strengthen your frame.
You will be like a well-watered garden,
    like a spring whose waters never fail.
Isaiah 58:11

1 Comment

Filed under Canines, Celebrations, Children, Clean Eating

One response to “Garden Gone Wild!

  1. Mom

    You definitely have a green thumb!!

Thoughts?

