I Love You Lord (my Sunday song)

Happy Sunday.  I’ll keep this short today as it’s been a lazy Sunday over here and I have some oatmeal chocolate chip muffins and banana bread in the oven!  Great message this AM at the New Church of Peachtree City from our music director, Mr. John Odom.

It was the story of Simon Peter taken from the gospel of John.  In a nutshell after all that Jesus had done for Peter and after Peter had declared him LORD, when put on the spot (before Jesus was crucified) he denied knowing Jesus, not only once – but three times.  Being the forgiving, loving God that HE is, in John 21:15-19 (below), Jesus asks Peter three times (not a coincidence) if he loves him.  Peter affirmed his love for him and was restored by Jesus in his walk.

How amazing is our LORD and SAVIOR that HE can forgive us after our transgressions, even denying Him?  Pretty amazing, and my prayer is for the strength and conviction to glorify him always, even when it may not be the “popular” thing to do (I can only imagine how Simon Peter felt), and find peace knowing of his amazing grace, patience, and love for me.

“15 When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?” “Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.” 16 Again Jesus said, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” He answered, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Take care of my sheep.” 17 The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?” Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.” Jesus said, “Feed my sheep. 18 Very truly I tell you, when you were younger you dressed yourself and went where you wanted; but when you are old you will stretch out your hands, and someone else will dress you and lead you where you do not want to go.” 19 Jesus said this to indicate the kind of deathby which Peter would glorify God. Then he said to him, “Follow me!”
John 21:15-19

There are so many songs about God’s love, but I thought today I would pick a song that tells God OUR love for him.  There are a lot of versions, included one below, but my favorite has to be from our church’s own Jay & Abby Akins, Abby’s voice is just sweet and beautiful and I fell in love with this song the first time I heard her sing it.  It has become a staple lullaby in our house and has put our kids to sleep many times over the last 3 years.  I hope you enjoy and can sing along to declare your love for our amazing, forgiving, understanding, and loving God.  God Bless and have a great week!

“I Love You, Lord”

I love you, Lord
And I lift my voice
To worship You
Oh, my soul, rejoice!

Take joy my King
In what You hear
Let it be a sweet, sweet sound
In Your ear

I love you, Lord
(I love you, Lord)
And I lift my voice
(And I lift my voice)
To worship You
(To worship You)
Oh, my soul, rejoice!
(Oh, my soul)

Take joy my King
(Take joy my King)
In what You hear
(In what You hear)
Let it be a sweet, sweet sound
(Let it be a sweet sound)
In Your ear

I love you, Lord
And I lift my voice
To worship You
Oh, my soul, rejoice!

Take joy my King
In what You hear
Let it be a sweet, sweet sound
In Your ear

I love you, Lord
(I love you, Lord)
I love you, Lord
(I love you, Lord)
(And I lift my voice)

I love you, Lord
(Take joy my King)
(Take joy my King)

I love you, Lord
(I love you, Lord)
I love you, Lord
(Let it be a sweet, sweet sound)

Leave a comment

Filed under Calling, Clean Eating

Thoughts?

