For the Daddies

Collages

Happy Father’s Day!  We’re being a bit rebellious today and skipping church (gasp!).  That doesn’t mean we aren’t worshiping and fellowshipping on our own, we just needed a Sunday to ourselves.  My wonderful husband has been working extra hard for us lately, and travelling a lot, so a quieter day (as quiet as it can be with 2 little ones) was just what we needed.

And I wanted to take a moment (or a blog post) to recognize my husband, other dads in my life, and all the fathers out there.  The sacrifices they make for their family (or maybe even the other way around for their career to be with or do what is best for their family), the courage they have to make tough decisions, the drive to provide and protect their families, and ofcourse their love for all of us.

For my baby daddy, we decided to get more creative for this holiday (I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to top the iPad for his birthday in April), but we hoped to tug at some heartstrings this time around!  The picture at the top was a collage we made, posing each baby, two human, 3 canine, to spell “Daddy”.  I had to get a little creative in Picasa as my usual go-to collage maker didn’t have a template for the 5 pictures across.  (The one I printed out actually had more little pictures of Daddy and the kids – and was printed in 11×14 to go in his office.)  Then I found a “pin” that had the idea of asking our 3-year old a bunch of Daddy’s favorites (see below) – so I printed it out all nice and had LL draw a picture of him around it.  It turned out so sweet.  Some answers were “right” – others will remind us of these early days (Daddy is $40 tall, and likes to eat bananas!).  And this is the book we ordered (didn’t make it in time – so sorry for the spoiler honey!)  to match this book  he received last year – great books for any Star Wars fan (and father!)  So Happy Father’s Day to my love and the best Daddy to LL and LM – we love you always and forever!

IMG_3186 IMG_3187 IMG_3183

 Berry Picking this AM at Whitely Farms

“The just man walketh in his integrity: his children are blessed after him.”
Proverbs 20:7

Next I wanted to recognize 2 other special men in my life.  First is my stepfather, known mostly these days as “Granddad”.  You motivate me to be my best, go for the gold (or whatever the prize), and always keep learning (was that correct grammar!).  Throughout the last 20+ years you have been there for so much and always pushed me to be the best I can be.  It’s been wonderful watching you fill the role as Grandfather now and I am so thankful for all the time you have with my kids.  Happy Father’s Day.

image

And then to my dad in heaven. (Ofcourse there is my Father in heaven too, but right now I’m speaking of my actual, biological father who now resides in heaven.)  I miss you and think of you each day and try and tell LL about her namesake often.  I hope I am making you proud and I hope you smile when you look down upon your Grandchildren.  I love you Dad.

dadAlmost 14 years ago to the day at my high school graduation

Thank you to those 3 special Dads above and to all Dads or those who fill the role as Dads for others.  You are all COURAGEOUS and here is my song for Sunday and dedicated to you all today.  Happy Father’s Day!

Courageous
Casting Crowns

We were made to be courageous
We were made to lead the way
We could be the generation
That finally breaks the chains
We were made to be courageous
We were made to be courageous

We were warriors on the front lines
Standing, unafraid
But now we’re watchers on the sidelines
While our families slip away

Where are you, men of courage?
You were made for so much more
Let the pounding of our hearts cry
We will serve the Lord

We were made to be courageous
And we’re taking back the fight
We were made to be courageous
And it starts with us tonight

The only way we’ll ever stand
Is on our knees with lifted hands
Make us courageous
Lord, make us courageous

This is our resolution
Our answer to the call
We will love our wives and children
We refuse to let them fall

We will reignite the passion
That we buried deep inside
May the watchers become warriors
Let the men of God arise

We were made to be courageous
And we’re taking back the fight
We were made to be courageous
And it starts with us tonight

The only way we’ll ever stand
Is on our knees with lifted hands
Make us courageous
Lord, make us courageous

Seek justice
Love mercy
Walk humbly with your God

In the war of the mind
I will make my stand
In the battle of the heart
And the battle of the hand

In the war of the mind
I will make my stand
In the battle of the heart
And the battle of the hand

We were made to be courageous
And we’re taking back the fight
We were made to be courageous
And it starts with us tonight

The only way we’ll ever stand
Is on our knees with lifted hands
Make us courageous
Lord, make us courageous

We were made to be courageous
Lord, make us courageous

Songwriter(s):John Mark Hall
Copyright:Sony/ATV Tree Publishing

3 Comments

Filed under Calling, Celebrations, Children

3 responses to “For the Daddies

  1. Henrietta Little

    Kaitlin,
    Always love reading your blog!!! What a GREAT picture of the kids too!!!
    Love,
    Henrietta

  2. Reblogged this on Get Your Daily Phil Here. and commented:
    great post , thanks for sharing.Gave you a follow to………….YourDailyPhil.com

  3. Mom

    OUTSTANDING!! I love you, Kaitlin!
    Mom

Thoughts?

