Clean Eating/Living Update

I’ve wanted to start this post every week – or even make it a weekly update.  New products I’ve discovered, recipes I’ve tried, or just steps I have made (or not made) in my journey to eat clean and feel better.  Things have gotten busy – but here goes by first attempt!  I do have to say that between eating better, exercising, and possibly a new medication I am on – I have felt great and am even a few pounds lighter than I was just a month or two ago.  Who knows – it may be psychological – but if it’s working – I’m going to keep on truckin’!

I did want to share a few products that I have discovered or switched to:

Chia Seeds & Flax Seeds.  Supposed to have amazing benefits.  I found a Groupon a few weeks back for 6 bags (3 of each) for like $15.  I have been adding them to my smoothies (which I’ve been making almost daily!)

 
(The brand I have is Gourmet Nut – but I wanted to link over to some products on Amazon!)

Anything Kashi.  Some may not be 100% clean – but they are all organic and compared to other similar bars and cereals – it is a big step up!

Also Cascadian Farm Products.  (Similar to Kashi!):

Archer Farms.  I’ve spent some time at local big box stores mainly looking for “quick” snacks and I’ve been impressed with Target’s in-store organic brand:

Archer Farms® Organic Blue Corn Tortilla Chips - 14 oz.

Publix Greenwise.  Publix is my go-to grocery store.  I have been pretty impressed with their Greenwise line.  That is the milk we’ve been giving to our babies and have now switched over to ourselves too!

Publix GreenWise Market Organic Whole Milk

For my recent birthday last week – my mom wanted to help support my new eating choices (thanks Mom!!) and asked where she could get me a gift certificate.  It appears Amazon has a GREAT selection of clean products (along with everything else I buy!).  So I thought I would share a few things I’ve decided to try out: (and get back to you later with reviews!)

Whole Wheat Orzo.  I make a pretty good orzo salad and was unable to find a whole wheat brand in store – so I was excited to find this:

Quinoa.  I still may not be able to pronounce it correctly (key-no-ah), but again have heard great things and it a good alternative to rice and pasta and it’s in a lot of recipes I have found!  (In stores – I have only been able to find blends.)

Coconut Oil.  I have a friend who swears by this.  And another friend just blogged about this the other day (here!).  So I thought I would give it a go and ordered this one:

Then I’ve been wanting to try out a cleaner shampoo and conditioner and ordered these:

And finally some lotions too!

I’m sure I could find more products I’ve bought in the last few weeks – but I need to save some for another post – right!?  In attempt to cut this off somewhere – I’ll need to do another post soon about things I have started to make instead of buy (dressings, condiments…) and recipes I’ve tried out.  I have to say it is definitely not easy to be 100% clean – but finding great products I can go-to and trust is one step.  I have good days, I have bad, but overall I am happy with my decision and plan to keep on going!

One last plug – Groupon is running a deal right now for eMeals – a menu planning service that offers Clean, Natural, and I think even Paleo eating plans.  Check it out!

Leave a comment

Filed under Clean Eating

Thoughts?

