April showers bring….fresh strawberries!

IMG_2835

I love fresh fruit.  Not only do we get the benefit of straight off the plant fruit, it is also an enjoyable outing for the kids and myself.  Yesterday, Danette from Mercy Drops and I headed over to Adams Farm in Fayetteville, GA, to pick some fresh strawberries.  A little bit of chill in the air meant we basically had the whole place to ourselves.  LL and I managed to pick 5.5 lbs.  At $2.15/lb – that isn’t too bad!

IMG_2830 IMG_2833

IMG_2832 IMG_2831

Now, what to do with those strawberries?  I felt like Forest Gump yesterday listing out the possibilities, you’ve got strawberry smoothies, strawberry muffins, strawberry shortcake, strawberry pie…I’ll spare you my whole list, but we started yesterday with strawberry smoothies:

IMG_2837I love smoothies, kids love smoothies, win-win for all of us.  For these I used strawberries, vanilla greek yogurt, almond milk, and honey.  I may try it later today with some fresh spinach too.  Then I washed the rest to store for the timing being, and had a little strawberry monster pop up and tell me she was going to eat all 5.5 lbs!  I should have taken a picture of the WHITE shirt she wore yesterday – stained with streaks of red by the end of the day!  Good problem to have though!

IMG_2839 IMG_2838

We will be back weekly.  As the summer goes on Adams Farm will also offer pick-your-own blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries, as well as a variety of pre-picked fresh produce, mixes, nuts, and candies.  The combinations and recipes are endless!

What is your favorite way to use fresh fruit?

2 Comments

Filed under Children, Clean Eating

2 responses to “April showers bring….fresh strawberries!

  1. Nancy Frederick

    I also love strawberries, and picked fresh is heavenly! They really are good in green smoothies as well, along with some banana. Freeze the berries, then put them in the smoothie so it’s nice and cold! You can hide the veggies that way. 🙂

  2. CoskiNation

    Good times a pick’n and chat’n! Can’t wait to make a smoothie too!

Thoughts?

