Clean Eating – Week One Update (and a few other things!)

It’s been an interesting, eye-opening week.  I’ve had ups, I’ve had downs.  I’ve felt encouraged, I’ve felt discouraged.  I’ve been praised and supported, and I’ve been criticized and put-down.  It’s amazing the mixed responses – but I am still encouraged for the most part and plan to keep going strong!  We’ve been far from perfect, especially trying to clear out reserves, but I’ve been more aware and I feel that is the first step.

After much research and recipe pinning, I decided to dive-in with some Clean Eating Chocolate Chip Muffins.  This is a breakfast staple for LL, and I’ve made my own many times (even using applesauce trying to be healthier), but this included many new ingredients I had never used before.  My first stop was Publix, my go-to weekly grocery store.  When that turned up empty (well maybe a few items), we tried Fresh Market where we found a few more ingredients.  Then when I still was missing my Whole Wheat Pastry Flour, Steven made one last trip to Kroger of all places and came up successful (thank you baby!)  Here is a picture of my first set of clean baking supplies:IMG_2681

Finally on Sunday night I made my muffins.  I used Agave Nectar instead of honey, safflower oil, and almond milk.  And I have not had success finding the grain sweetened chocolate chips yet, so that was my one “non-clean” ingredient (but I’m thinking chocolate may be an acceptable deviation!) .  The batter was darker and I was very skeptical – but the overall verdict is that they were good!  We all ate them for breakfast a few days this week, LL was little harder to convince but she ate them, and ofcourse my LM loved them.  Even Steven said they were better than my usual muffins!  Yay for a successful first recipe! (Many more to come as my Pinterest board is filling up!)

IMG_2682IMG_2683

I’ve also been on a mission to find some quick snacks (thank you to everyone for your suggestions too!).  I’m not sure anything will ever replace Goldfish my kids hearts and stomachs (and I probably won’t even try) – but I’ve found a few contenders and will update more later whether or not these will be staples.  Reading labels has been the most discouraging part of the week, but I feel if I invest the time now and get my “go-to” brands that like everything, it will get easier over time.  (And yes – those are Cheetos – and maybe someone can correct me – but the ingredient list actually looks good to my novice eyes!)  Then, as always, fresh fruit, smoothies and raisins/craisins.

photo.JPGI did sign up for eMeals – but haven’t tried any recipes yet, but I plan to this week.  There are many “new” ingredients that I either have never heard of or will probably spend some time trying to track down.  For instance, rice noodles, bulgar wheat, red pepper jelly, and jicama to name a few!  I’m also trying to clean up some of our other staples, like pizza by making my own pizza dough and sauce.

Now on a fun note – it is our 6th year anniversary on Sunday!  To celebrate – we are going to the Taste of Senoia.  I believe I mentioned before that we do love good food and trying new things so I feel good about being able to do that knowing that majority of the time we do (will!) be eating good at home.  Also I’m excited about a trip to the Peachtree City Farmer’s Market.  We always enjoy farmer’s markets, and go often, but armed with my new mission and information, I’m extra excited this week! (Especially for some good honey!)

426.21

And lastly – prayers going out to Boston, Texas, and my in-laws this week.  It seems like April brings too much tragedy, as I am remembering 6 years ago this week, the VA Tech shootings too.  I’ll leave you with 2 verses today.

When you pass through the waters,
    I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
    they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
    you will not be burned;
    the flames will not set you ablaze.

Isaiah 43:2

“Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good. His love endures forever.”

Psalm 136:1

2 Comments

Filed under Calling, Celebrations, Children, Clean Eating

2 responses to “Clean Eating – Week One Update (and a few other things!)

  1. Mom

    Nice job! I’m really enjoying reading all your posts! I love you!

Thoughts?

