Mommy Dilemma and My Action Plan!

Happy Friday!  This post has been a few weeks in the making, it may be a little choppy as there are a lot of things I wanted to cover, so bear with me.  It started as a “Mommy Rant”.  You’ve probably seen a few of them circulating lately.  Mainly centered around keeping up with the Pinterest Super Moms.  That doesn’t bother me so much, I dabble in Pinterest and don’t feel pressure (yet!) to be super crafty mom, or at least I feel I can hold my own in that respect.  My rant is more over the balance between being super coupon saving mom vs. being super healthy nutrition mom.  I’ve come to realize it will be a balance.  It doesn’t have to be one or the other, but it will be a compromise . I feel torn each day between trying to save the most, yet feed my family healthily.  The two do not always go hand in hand, so I feel I am failing in both respects.  And last week, that rut I described in my last post, was partly because of just information overload over what foods are good and bad these days and most has been bad (some very shocking).  I try hard to do what is best for my kids and my family, but I just can’t keep up, feel overwhelmed, and in response just want to shut down.  So I did for a few weeks.  (Don’t worry – I did still feed my kids and keep everyone happy and healthy – I just had to shut off my attention to these types of articles.)

 photo 1

This week I have decided I need to take action.  I cannot tackle everything at once, so I made a list and started my research.  (My Type A personality coming out in full force!)

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Phillipians 4:13

Now where does this fit into my blog and finding my calling you ask!?  Here is what I’ve figured out thus far.  To be my best and live up my potential, I need to feel good (see verse above).  I need to feel good physically and feel good about the choices I make for my family.  I know they will be far from perfect, but if I am trying with an open heart, that is a step in the right direction.   We are all “healthy”, but the more I read about changing up diets, removing processed food, the more I am convinced it will be beneficial in the long run.  This has not been an easy conclusion to come to.  I (like a lot of Americans) are all about instant gratification.  If I don’t “hurt” right away from eating X, Y, & Z, what’s the big deal? Or this is only $1, so I’d rather save the $x and eat/buy this because does it really matter?  This is a really hard thing to get over, when so much of the information I get from super coupon saver moms is you need to save money!  But the super healthy nutritional moms are creeping into my head saying, yes it may be cheaper, but in 5,10,20 years you’ll be feeling the effects.  Or maybe even sooner, as I’m curious to see if eliminating some things from our diets will help us feel better and have more energy right now (something I could really use!)

That all being said, where do I start?  One of my biggest pet peeves is people who complain, but have no solution (which was me last week!) So I have made the decision to start phasing into Clean Eating.  I’ve done some research, found a few blogs, talked to a few other moms (thank you Joy!), and am going to start here.  The reason I say phasing in, is that I am not going to go through my house and purge and I will have a few (maybe more) exceptions (at least at first).  I’m way too conscience of the money I have already spent to throw away perfectly good (albeit maybe not healthy food).  We don’t have a ton, but I’ve bought my share of Mac & Cheese and boxed food when they were on BOGO.  I’ve only recently gotten to a point where my menu planning has consistently saved me 30%+ each week, so the budget side will be an adjustment, although I still plan on only buying what is in-season. I have just returned from my first (eye-opening) outing to Publix after making this decision.  It is amazing how many things that I thought were healthy have many of the ingredients that Clean Eating says to avoid (or how many ingredients are in what seems to be a simple products i.e. grated cheese or bread).  I think the hardest will be white flour (pastas, breads, rice…), and convenient, pre-packaged, quick foods/snacks.  Also soda – I will be using my beloved SodaStream for naturally flavored carbonated water ONLY.  And we enjoy eating out, so for now I may try and be more conscience of what I order but not to the extreme of asking for a list of ingredients – everyone needs a break sometime – right!?

As mentioned, I made my first list (see a portion below) and will gradually phase these in over time.  I don’t expect to be perfect, or anywhere close, but if I can aim for 4-5 days a week (or maybe even just dinners to start) and allow myself room to grow, I’m hoping I can do this.  Again, it’s all about balance.  I can see how one could easily spend a lot of their time menu planning (doing research on what is good v. bad), clipping coupons to go with it, but then not have time for much else.  My kids are my priority and if every once in awhile (or more) I break out a boxed meal in order to spend that extra hour playing outside – don’t judge me.

“You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.” Isaiah 26:3

I’d love to hear your thoughts, experience, and/or any resources or blogs you have found on this topic.  I’m no where near an expert and as with everything – I need help and support!

Resources: (I don’t get anything in return for any of these references – I just found them helpful!)

My to do list:  No soda, no hot dogs, no lunchables, no box/convenience food.  Start making own mac and cheese, muffins, pizza dough, quick freezer grab items.  Cut down on pastas/bread.  Phase in natural shampoos/soaps/lotions (no fragrance)

.photo 2 photo 3

Green Smoothies today for lunch were a success!! (One BIG challenge will be getting these little picky people on board!)

6 Comments

Filed under Calling, Children

6 responses to “Mommy Dilemma and My Action Plan!

  1. Lesa

    I am just saying I could never do this with two little ones. Just don’t stress yourself out over all of this. All the kids care about is time with mommie and daddy.

    • It’s not going to be easy I know. I have been stressed not having a plan in place – so I think for me and my obsessive/type A personality – having a “plan of action will be good! We’ll see – but yes another factor in all of this is not spending too much time planning on this when I could be with my babies 🙂

  2. Carrie

    I have been buying mostly organic for awhile now and buying more fresh produce/meat/dairy. I honestly haven’t seen a big increase in my grocery bill because the cart isn’t filled up with cereals, sodas, chips, cookies, etc (which add $$ very quickly). Making your own food instead of pre-packaged food is cheaper too. Also, many times the serving sizes are bigger when organic, so it seems like you are paying more, but often times, the quantity is bigger than the typical name brand. In addition, my grocery store has their own organic line, which is less expensive that some of the other organic brands. My motto has been with myself & the girls is to keep my kitchen as clean and healthy as possible and any food that we eat out or at someone’s house is a treat and I don’t think twice about it.

    • Hey Carrie! Good to hear from you and good motto! That was one issue I was concerned about – how to take it out of the house, but I like that rationale. I’d love to hear your suggestions for (quick) snacks for kids too. Thanks 🙂

      • Carrie

        Hi-

        My motto really just came from reality- you can’t control the world and what others will serve you and your kids whether be at school, a relative’s house, a party, a play date etc. I am just trying to be a good role model for my girls to eat healthy and realistically. I don’t want my girls to struggle with weight like I have. I don’t have a lot of snacks simply because we aren’t home during the weekdays. My cupboards typically have organic pretzels, Annie’s brand cheddar bunny and graham bunny crackers (Amber and I both love them!) organic animal crackers, homemade popcorn is a favorite, lots of fruit (bananas, grapes, watermelon, clementines are favs), & lots of water no juice. I also make my own cookies and keep them in the freezer. Even though they aren’t really “healthy” I know what’s in them & can pronounce all the ingredients in it which is better than whatever you can find in a store. I hope these suggestions help!

  3. Coskination

    If brown rice is allowed is like to recommend a brown rice pasta that is really good. I use it every now and then when I really need a pasta fix. It is tinkyada and I get it at publix! It is so good i even managed to sneak it under my super pasta snobby husband’s nose!!!

Thoughts?

