Book Review: Screen Play: A Novel

By Chris Coppernoll

Downloaded Free on 3/26/13

Finish Time: 4 days.  I’m going to keep this review short and sweet, just like this book.  It was again an easy read (I’m on a bit of a streak with those type of books) and the word that keeps popping in my head is sweet.  It may be the jelly beans I’m eating or all the sweets this time of year for Easter, but it was a good book to reflect the season (the candy side of it at least!)

Harper is a very likable main character.  Realistic?  Maybe, I’m not a Hollywood actress, nor would I want to be, but I know that profession has a stigma that comes with it.  She is a newer Christian, but impressively devout.  She looks at each situation as an opportunity to grow in her faith and to tell others about it.  A trait that is very admirable.

The book begins with Harper traveling from California to New York to work as an understudy in a Broadway play.  That quickly escalates into a much bigger role and her career quickly takes off.  She is just coming off a time in her life where she was very depressed, during which she found her faith.  A sub-plot to the book is her entry into online dating where she makes a long-distance connection with Luke.  Her BFF through the book is Avril and she was another character I really enjoyed getting to know.  Every decision Harper makes is through her heart and her faith.   The action really picks up towards that end and I found myself holding my breath until I finished.

I’ll say it again – sweet Christian fiction book that I would recommend.  Now to try and find something a little more challenging for my next book…

Leave a comment

Filed under Chapters

Thoughts?

